Can you disbelieve Displacement?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
During a battle with an uvuudaum the party was at first stymied by its DISPLACEMENT ability. Then the players advanced an idea that the 3rd level spell of the same name is an Illusion (glamer)... and as such it should allow a WILL save if its interacted with (such as someone missing an attack because of it). They then reasoned that anyone witnessing such a thing or having the event communicated to them would get a save also, with a +4 bonus (the whole 9 yards on illusions in combat is in the PHB, pg 173).

This sounds completely off base to me, but I can't nail down a rules-reason why. Any help?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, you can't, anymore than you can disbelieve invisibility. The spell has a saving throw, but that is for casting it on a subject (e.g. you're casting it on your fighter friend to displace him).
 

lukelightning said:
No, you can't, anymore than you can disbelieve invisibility. The spell has a saving throw, but that is for casting it on a subject (e.g. you're casting it on your fighter friend to displace him).
Yeah, I'm pretty sure it has to say something like Saving Throw: Will Disbelief to be disbelieved.
 

Agree with the others, look at the line "Saving Throw: Will negates (harmless)". The "harmless" indicates only saves for those actually targeted by the spell. No "disbelief" specifier appears.
 

Ki Ryn said:
During a battle with an uvuudaum the party was at first stymied by its DISPLACEMENT ability. Then the players advanced an idea that the 3rd level spell of the same name is an Illusion (glamer)... and as such it should allow a WILL save if its interacted with (such as someone missing an attack because of it). They then reasoned that anyone witnessing such a thing or having the event communicated to them would get a save also, with a +4 bonus (the whole 9 yards on illusions in combat is in the PHB, pg 173).

This sounds completely off base to me, but I can't nail down a rules-reason why. Any help?

This would be a case of the specific over ruling the general. You follow the WILL save to disbeleive a glamer, UNTIL there is a specific instance that this is not the case, such as the Displacement.
 

Remove ads

Top