Can you have more than one type?

Fenris

Adventurer
Can a being have more than one type? An undead construct (eg frankenstein)? An outsider dragon? Or can you only have one type and when it changes, the new type supercedes any other? Would there be huge problems to house rule it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The only time this has been done was in the Epic Level Handbook, though that was changed in the 3.5 update.

Templates that change type should explain what to do. For example, a celestial dog should be Small Magical Beast (Augmented Animal).
 

Only one type, but there's not limit on subtypes.

Frankenstein's Monster (Adam) would be a Construct. A proposed Undead Construct would be a Construct that was killed, and then later brought back to a sembalance of life. Doesn't work because a construct isn't alive in the first place; no Con score. So Adam, along with all his lesser-than-he, unintelligent flesh golem ilk, are Constructs even though they're sewn together from dead person bits.


An Outsider Dragon, like say a green dragon with the fiendish template, would be an Outsider. The reason why being covered in the fiendish template section where it lists the changes to type. Overall not that great a deal for the dragon - hit dice drops to d8, but that weak ref save does get shored up a bit.


New type supercedes old type. The old type becoming a subtype ("Augmented X") in the case of applied templates and changes, such as the kind you get from advancing 10 levels in certain prestigue classes. In the case of inherrited templates - a template you're born with - the base creature's original type doesn't become a subtype. At no point did you suddenly become something more than what you were - you've always been that way.


As for huge problems in house ruling critters to have multiple types... I could see it being problematic. Your type determines what benefits you gain from any racial hit dice: your ba, saves, skills, etc. If you're tossing multiple base types on a critter, which type's criteria do you use? Do you average both out? Do you just get the best of everything (which leads to the question of the heck is the point in mucking about with types if all you're going to do is just take the monster and 'turn it up to 11')? So on and so forth.
 

Generally no. If there's a conflict, or dual-interest, figure out which type is most likely or most advantageous, and use subtypes to round it out.

Sejs said:
An Outsider Dragon, like say a green dragon with the fiendish template, would be an Outsider. The reason why being covered in the fiendish template section where it lists the changes to type. Overall not that great a deal for the dragon - hit dice drops to d8, but that weak ref save does get shored up a bit.


New type supercedes old type. The old type becoming a subtype ("Augmented X") in the case of applied templates and changes, such as the kind you get from advancing 10 levels in certain prestigue classes. In the case of inherrited templates - a template you're born with - the base creature's original type doesn't become a subtype. At no point did you suddenly become something more than what you were - you've always been that way.

This is, of course, open to DM's interpretation. You can make a draconic Outsider (Evil, Extraplanar, Water), or an outsider Dragon (Evil, Extraplanar, Water), and give either one of them spell-like abilities similar to the half-fiend template.

Similarly, a race of creatures only recently moved to another plane may still be transforming -- gaining the Outsider type, but retaining the Augmented Magical Beast (or Augmented Monstrous Humanoid, or etc, etc) subtype, even though they were "born with it". Creatures with the Augmented subtype usually have the features (hit dice, BAB, saves, and skill points) of their Augmented subtype, and the traits (darkvision, proficiencies) of their new type.

Just some more options
Nell.
 
Last edited:


Sejs said:
An Outsider Dragon, like say a green dragon with the fiendish template, would be an Outsider. The reason why being covered in the fiendish template section where it lists the changes to type. Overall not that great a deal for the dragon - hit dice drops to d8, but that weak ref save does get shored up a bit.

The fiendish template doesn't change hit dice or saves:

A fiendish creature uses all the base creature’s statistics and abilities except as noted here. Do not recalculate the creature’s Hit Dice, base attack bonus, saves, or skill points if its type changes.

(Anyway, dragons have a good Reflex save so it wouldn't improve in any case.)
 

Scharlata said:
What about a wildshaped druid?

Is she not an augmented humaoid and an animal, both at the same time?

Kind regards

Polymorph notes that type and subtypes change to match the new form, so a wildshaped druid becomes an Animal (Augmented Humanoid). She retains her class features, but loses her racial traits and assumes those of the Animal type.

That's my 10-second interpretation, at least.

Cheers
Nell.
 

Sejs said:
In the case of inherrited templates - a template you're born with - the base creature's original type doesn't become a subtype. At no point did you suddenly become something more than what you were - you've always been that way.

From 3.5 SRD (emphasis mine):
Augmented Subtype: A creature receives this subtype whenever something happens to change its original type. Some creatures (those with an inherited template) are born with this subtype; others acquire it when they take on an acquired template. The augmented subtype is always paired with the creature’s original type. A creature with the augmented subtype usually has the traits of its current type, but the features of its original type.
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top