Can you store spells with their feat benifits?

durza120

First Post
If I store a spell in a scroll (flame strike foe instance) would I be able to store it with sudden maximise? So that when I use it, I'll have ti maxed out.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You can do so with spells modified by the regular metamagic feats (though some metamagic feats are useless when you do so). They are treated exactly the same as a spell of the modified level. For instance, an Empowered Fireball can be scribed onto a scroll as a 5th level spell.

The sudden metamagic feats, though... I'd say not.

Later
silver
 

Michael Silverbane said:
They are treated exactly the same as a spell of the modified level. For instance, an Empowered Fireball can be scribed onto a scroll as a 5th level spell.
Note the change in DC. The empowered fireball scroll has a DC of 15 while a normal fireball scroll has a DC of 14.

Michael Silverbane said:
The sudden metamagic feats, though... I'd say not.
I agree with that, though unfortunately the sudden metamagic feats do not restrict it. Nor do divine metamagic feats.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I agree with that, though unfortunately the sudden metamagic feats do not restrict it. Nor do divine metamagic feats.

With Sudden Maximize, you can apply the effect of the Maximize Spell feat to a spell you cast. When you scribe a scroll, you're not casting a spell, so the feat isn't relevant.

Storing a spell in a Ring of Spell Storing does involve casting a spell, so you could use Sudden Maximize to apply the effects of the Maximize Spell feat to, for example, a Magic Missile you were casting into the Ring. As a DM, I'd rule that "Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat" would result in the spell taking up storage space equal to the spell level modified by the metamagic feat whose effects are applied - namely Maximize Spell - so the Magic Missile would be cast from a 1st level slot, but would take up 4 levels in the Ring.

-Hyp.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Note the change in DC. The empowered fireball scroll has a DC of 15 while a normal fireball scroll has a DC of 14.
Why would the DC change? The spell is not actually a higher level spell and your required ability modifier would not change either. It's still a third level spell on both counts. By the way, that DC looks wrong, shouldn't it be a base DC of 15? I could be wrong.

KerlanRayne
 

KerlanRayne said:
Why would the DC change? The spell is not actually a higher level spell and your required ability modifier would not change either. It's still a third level spell on both counts. By the way, that DC looks wrong, shouldn't it be a base DC of 15? I could be wrong.

14 for both - 3rd level spell, and a minimum ability score of 13 (+1).

-Hyp.
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top