Can you use Metamagic feats on Domain spells?

RigaMortus

Explorer
If I have a level 1 domain spell, and a metamagic feat (lets say, Extend spell) that raises the spell 1 spell slot, can I memorize the metamagic version as my level 2 domain spell?

Is there an official rule on this? Is it in the PHB and I just missed it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The wording in the PHB, strictly applied, would imply that you cannot (it actually says you have to use domain slots for domain spells of the given level). But it has been clarified in Sage Advice (and hence presumably the FAQ) that this was not the intent. I know because I was the one who sent the Sage that question to make sure it got covered, and sure enough it's come up here several times since.

We "prepare" spells in this edition, by the way. Somebody else in some other game "memorizes" them. :)
 

Remove ads

Top