Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Chill Touch
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Camarath" data-source="post: 2615306" data-attributes="member: 11987"><p>There is no stated limit on pages 140 or 141 about the number of touch attacks one may make while casting a spell. The rules only say "In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target.". The Target in this case is "Creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)". So barring a specific rule stating that one may not make more than one touch attack as part of the same action as casting a spell I see no reason why one could not attempt to make touch attack against every target specified in the target line of the spell.</p><p> I believe that spell's description and the rules on PHB page 176 should be considered the primary rule source in this case over the Full Attack limitation page 143 "If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough, because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon or for some special reason you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks.".</p><p></p><p>PHB page 176 clearly states "Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can’t hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.". I believe this rule applies directly to the Chill Touch spell and other Instantaneous duration Touch spells. (If this is not so could someone please point out the spell to which this rule refers.)</p><p></p><p>You have already stated that you believe that the Touch Spell rule page 140 "In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target." trumps the Attack Action rule page 139 "Making an attack is a standard action." allowing one to preform an attack as part of the same action as casting a spell without an additional standard action. </p><p></p><p>I think if anything, the rules on page 176 show clearer precedence over the Full Attack rule that the rules on page 140 do over the Attack Action rule. After all it is conceivably be possible use a standard action to touch the target of a spell (assuming the spell has a single target) in the same round you cast the spell. But the rules on page 176 clearly stated that the touch attacks allowed are part of the spell while the Full Attack rule states you must make them as part of a Full Attack Action. This is a clear contradiction.</p><p></p><p>Thus one rule must be given precedence and I believe that the spell's description and the rules on PHB page 176 deal far more directly with the issue in question and Chill Touch should be assumed to work as stated by those rules.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Camarath, post: 2615306, member: 11987"] There is no stated limit on pages 140 or 141 about the number of touch attacks one may make while casting a spell. The rules only say "In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target.". The Target in this case is "Creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)". So barring a specific rule stating that one may not make more than one touch attack as part of the same action as casting a spell I see no reason why one could not attempt to make touch attack against every target specified in the target line of the spell. I believe that spell's description and the rules on PHB page 176 should be considered the primary rule source in this case over the Full Attack limitation page 143 "If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough, because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon or for some special reason you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks.". PHB page 176 clearly states "Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can’t hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.". I believe this rule applies directly to the Chill Touch spell and other Instantaneous duration Touch spells. (If this is not so could someone please point out the spell to which this rule refers.) You have already stated that you believe that the Touch Spell rule page 140 "In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target." trumps the Attack Action rule page 139 "Making an attack is a standard action." allowing one to preform an attack as part of the same action as casting a spell without an additional standard action. I think if anything, the rules on page 176 show clearer precedence over the Full Attack rule that the rules on page 140 do over the Attack Action rule. After all it is conceivably be possible use a standard action to touch the target of a spell (assuming the spell has a single target) in the same round you cast the spell. But the rules on page 176 clearly stated that the touch attacks allowed are part of the spell while the Full Attack rule states you must make them as part of a Full Attack Action. This is a clear contradiction. Thus one rule must be given precedence and I believe that the spell's description and the rules on PHB page 176 deal far more directly with the issue in question and Chill Touch should be assumed to work as stated by those rules. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Chill Touch
Top