Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
NOW LIVE! Today's the day you meet your new best friend. You don’t have to leave Wolfy behind... In 'Pets & Sidekicks' your companions level up with you!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Chucking daggers: how do we throw two?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Cernor" data-source="post: 6526614" data-attributes="member: 6780066"><p>However, if you use only the bolded text to determine what type of weapon is being used, then any ranged weapon used within 5 feet of an enemy necessarily becomes a melee weapon, despite still being used to make a ranged weapon attack. Unless firing an arrow from a bow at an enemy within 5 feet of you counts as a melee weapon attack (hence ignoring your disadvantage for making a ranged weapon attack while a hostile creature is within 5 feet of you), because it would become a melee weapon based on the circumstances.</p><p></p><p>Be warned: long post ahead taking every piece of relevant information (that I can find, I may have missed something) about weapon attacks and throwing them into the "specific beats general" mindset.</p><p></p><p>[SBLOCK]Let's find the definition of weapons, then put it into the basis of "specific beats general". At the beginning of the <u>Weapons</u> category, it's stated that every weapon is either a <strong>melee weapon</strong> or <strong>ranged weapon</strong>. It is also stated that <strong>melee weapons</strong> are used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, while a <strong>ranged weapon</strong> is used to attack a target at a distance.</p><p></p><p>Right here we have two general rules about weapons. Barring any specific cases, these two facts must be true:</p><p>1. Every weapon is classified as either a <strong>melee weapon</strong> or a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>.</p><p>2. Every <strong>melee weapon </strong> is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, while every <strong>ranged weapon</strong> is used to attack a target at a distance.</p><p></p><p>In the "Weapon Proficiency" section, no text provides further clarification; the above two points still stand. However, we get to the "Weapon Properties" section and a few specific rules show up which contradict the second of the previous statements:</p><p>3. If you use a weapon that has the <em>ammunition</em> property to make a <strong>melee attack</strong>, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon; that is, it deals 1d4 damage and requires a separate proficiency.</p><p>4. A weapon with the <em>reach</em> property adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it; that is, a <strong>melee weapon</strong> with <em>reach</em> can be used to attack a creature within 10 feet instead of 5.</p><p>5. If a weapon has the <em>thrown</em> property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a <strong>melee weapon</strong>, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would for a <strong>melee attack </strong>with the weapon.</p><p></p><p>Point 5 brings up a question as to the inherent differences between a melee attack and a ranged attack: we must now find general rules that state these differences so that we can understand <u>what</u>, exactly, this specific rule beats. In Chapter 7: Using Ability Scores, we find:</p><p></p><p>6. You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a <strong>melee weapon </strong>such as a mace, a battleaxe, or a javelin. You use <strong>melee weapons </strong>to make <strong>melee attacks</strong> in hand-to-hand combat, and some of them can be thrown to make a <strong>ranged attack</strong>.</p><p>7. You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when attacking with a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>, such as a sling or a longbow. You can also add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a <strong>melee weapon</strong> that has the <em>finesse</em> property, such as a dagger or rapier.</p><p></p><p>We can see that the book distinguishes between <strong>melee weapons</strong> and <strong>melee weapon attacks</strong>, as well as <strong>ranged weapons</strong> and <strong>ranged weapon attacks</strong>. Although <strong>ranged weapons</strong> are primarily used to make <strong>ranged weapon attacks</strong> and <strong>melee weapons</strong> are primarily used to make <strong>melee weapon attacks</strong>, there are some cases where <strong>ranged weapons</strong> are used to make <strong>melee weapon attacks</strong> and some where <strong>melee weapons</strong> are used to make <strong>ranged weapon attacks</strong>. We can also see a fourth specific rule from point 7: weapons with the <em>finesse</em> property can use Dexterity as their ability modifier for <strong>melee attacks</strong>.</p><p></p><p>General rule 1: Every weapon is classified as either a <strong>melee weapon</strong> or a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>.</p><p>General rule 2: Every <strong>melee weapon </strong> is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, while every <strong>ranged weapon</strong> is used to attack a target at a distance.</p><p>General rule 3: You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a <strong>melee weapon </strong>such as a mace, a battleaxe, or a javelin. You use <strong>melee weapons </strong>to make <strong>melee attacks</strong> in hand-to-hand combat, and some of them can be thrown to make a <strong>ranged attack</strong>.</p><p>General rule 4: You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when attacking with a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>, such as a sling or a longbow. You can also add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a <strong>melee weapon</strong> that has the <em>finesse</em> property, such as a dagger or rapier.</p><p></p><p>Specific rule 1: If you use a weapon that has the <em>ammunition</em> property to make a <strong>melee attack</strong>, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon; that is, it deals 1d4 damage and requires a separate proficiency.</p><p>Specific rule 2: A weapon with the <em>reach</em> property adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it; that is, a <strong>melee weapon</strong> with <em>reach</em> can be used to attack a creature within 10 feet instead of 5.</p><p>Specific rule 3: If a weapon has the <em>thrown</em> property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a <strong>melee weapon</strong>, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would for a <strong>melee attack </strong>with the weapon.</p><p>Specific rule 4: When making an attack with the <em>finesse</em> property, you use your choice of Strength or Dexterity for your attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls.</p><p></p><p><u><em>Ramifications of Specific rule 1</em></u>: This means that General rule 2 must not necessarily be true, because a <strong>ranged weapon</strong> can be used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, making a <strong>melee attack</strong>.</p><p><em><u>Ramifications of Specific rule 2</u></em>: This also means the part of General rule 2 regarding <strong>melee weapons</strong> is not necessarily true, because not every <strong>melee weapon </strong>must be used to attack a target within 5 feet of you.</p><p><u><em>Ramifications of Specific rule 3</em></u>: This, in conjunction with Specific rules 1 and 2, makes General rule 2 entirely obsolete; some <strong>melee weapons</strong> can be used to make a <strong>ranged attack</strong> against targets not necessarily within 5 feet of you.</p><p><u><em>Ramifications of Specific rule 4</em></u>: With General rule 4 making an allowance for the <em>finesse</em> property, this rule simply stops General rule 3 from encompassing <u>all</u> <strong>melee weapons</strong>.</p><p></p><p>The table of weapons acts as a specific rule, and is the only place where the assumptions of General rule 1 might be challenged. However, lacking any specific instances where a weapon is considered both a <strong>melee weapon</strong> and a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>, we are forced to conclude that General rule 1 is true in all cases: every weapon is either a <strong>melee weapon</strong> or a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>, regardless of whether it's currently being used to make a <strong>melee weapon attack</strong> or a <strong>ranged weapon attack</strong>. </p><p></p><p>Thus, we have the following rules regarding weapons and weapon attacks:</p><p>1. Every weapon is either a <strong>melee weapon</strong> or a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>.</p><p>2. You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a <strong>melee weapon</strong>, whether the attack is a <strong>melee attack</strong> or <strong>ranged attack</strong>. If a weapon has the <em>finesse</em> property, you use your choice of Strength or Dexterity for its attack and damage rolls.</p><p>3. You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack and damage roll when attacking with a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>, whether the attack is a <strong>ranged attack</strong> or a <strong>melee attack</strong>. If a weapon has the <em>finesse</em> property, you use your choice of Strength or Dexterity for its attack and damage rolls.</p><p>4. A <strong>ranged weapon</strong> with the <em>ammunition</em> property used to make a <strong>melee attack</strong> is considered an improvised weapon, and uses the rules described therein.</p><p>[/SBLOCK]</p><p></p><p>Phew, glad that's done with. I'm afraid that no weapon can belong to the subsets of both a <strong>melee weapon</strong> and a <strong>ranged weapon</strong>; the rules are extremely clear on that. The reason the bolded text you called out is there is to give a(n extremely) rough guideline as to what ranged and melee weapons are before going into further detail later on in the book.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Cernor, post: 6526614, member: 6780066"] However, if you use only the bolded text to determine what type of weapon is being used, then any ranged weapon used within 5 feet of an enemy necessarily becomes a melee weapon, despite still being used to make a ranged weapon attack. Unless firing an arrow from a bow at an enemy within 5 feet of you counts as a melee weapon attack (hence ignoring your disadvantage for making a ranged weapon attack while a hostile creature is within 5 feet of you), because it would become a melee weapon based on the circumstances. Be warned: long post ahead taking every piece of relevant information (that I can find, I may have missed something) about weapon attacks and throwing them into the "specific beats general" mindset. [SBLOCK]Let's find the definition of weapons, then put it into the basis of "specific beats general". At the beginning of the [U]Weapons[/U] category, it's stated that every weapon is either a [B]melee weapon[/B] or [B]ranged weapon[/B]. It is also stated that [B]melee weapons[/B] are used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, while a [B]ranged weapon[/B] is used to attack a target at a distance. Right here we have two general rules about weapons. Barring any specific cases, these two facts must be true: 1. Every weapon is classified as either a [B]melee weapon[/B] or a [B]ranged weapon[/B]. 2. Every [B]melee weapon [/B] is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, while every [B]ranged weapon[/B] is used to attack a target at a distance. In the "Weapon Proficiency" section, no text provides further clarification; the above two points still stand. However, we get to the "Weapon Properties" section and a few specific rules show up which contradict the second of the previous statements: 3. If you use a weapon that has the [I]ammunition[/I] property to make a [B]melee attack[/B], you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon; that is, it deals 1d4 damage and requires a separate proficiency. 4. A weapon with the [I]reach[/I] property adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it; that is, a [B]melee weapon[/B] with [I]reach[/I] can be used to attack a creature within 10 feet instead of 5. 5. If a weapon has the [I]thrown[/I] property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a [B]melee weapon[/B], you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would for a [B]melee attack [/B]with the weapon. Point 5 brings up a question as to the inherent differences between a melee attack and a ranged attack: we must now find general rules that state these differences so that we can understand [U]what[/U], exactly, this specific rule beats. In Chapter 7: Using Ability Scores, we find: 6. You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a [B]melee weapon [/B]such as a mace, a battleaxe, or a javelin. You use [B]melee weapons [/B]to make [B]melee attacks[/B] in hand-to-hand combat, and some of them can be thrown to make a [B]ranged attack[/B]. 7. You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when attacking with a [B]ranged weapon[/B], such as a sling or a longbow. You can also add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a [B]melee weapon[/B] that has the [I]finesse[/I] property, such as a dagger or rapier. We can see that the book distinguishes between [B]melee weapons[/B] and [B]melee weapon attacks[/B], as well as [B]ranged weapons[/B] and [B]ranged weapon attacks[/B]. Although [B]ranged weapons[/B] are primarily used to make [B]ranged weapon attacks[/B] and [B]melee weapons[/B] are primarily used to make [B]melee weapon attacks[/B], there are some cases where [B]ranged weapons[/B] are used to make [B]melee weapon attacks[/B] and some where [B]melee weapons[/B] are used to make [B]ranged weapon attacks[/B]. We can also see a fourth specific rule from point 7: weapons with the [I]finesse[/I] property can use Dexterity as their ability modifier for [B]melee attacks[/B]. General rule 1: Every weapon is classified as either a [B]melee weapon[/B] or a [B]ranged weapon[/B]. General rule 2: Every [B]melee weapon [/B] is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, while every [B]ranged weapon[/B] is used to attack a target at a distance. General rule 3: You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a [B]melee weapon [/B]such as a mace, a battleaxe, or a javelin. You use [B]melee weapons [/B]to make [B]melee attacks[/B] in hand-to-hand combat, and some of them can be thrown to make a [B]ranged attack[/B]. General rule 4: You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when attacking with a [B]ranged weapon[/B], such as a sling or a longbow. You can also add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a [B]melee weapon[/B] that has the [I]finesse[/I] property, such as a dagger or rapier. Specific rule 1: If you use a weapon that has the [I]ammunition[/I] property to make a [B]melee attack[/B], you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon; that is, it deals 1d4 damage and requires a separate proficiency. Specific rule 2: A weapon with the [I]reach[/I] property adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it; that is, a [B]melee weapon[/B] with [I]reach[/I] can be used to attack a creature within 10 feet instead of 5. Specific rule 3: If a weapon has the [I]thrown[/I] property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a [B]melee weapon[/B], you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would for a [B]melee attack [/B]with the weapon. Specific rule 4: When making an attack with the [I]finesse[/I] property, you use your choice of Strength or Dexterity for your attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls. [U][I]Ramifications of Specific rule 1[/I][/U]: This means that General rule 2 must not necessarily be true, because a [B]ranged weapon[/B] can be used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, making a [B]melee attack[/B]. [I][U]Ramifications of Specific rule 2[/U][/I]: This also means the part of General rule 2 regarding [B]melee weapons[/B] is not necessarily true, because not every [B]melee weapon [/B]must be used to attack a target within 5 feet of you. [U][I]Ramifications of Specific rule 3[/I][/U]: This, in conjunction with Specific rules 1 and 2, makes General rule 2 entirely obsolete; some [B]melee weapons[/B] can be used to make a [B]ranged attack[/B] against targets not necessarily within 5 feet of you. [U][I]Ramifications of Specific rule 4[/I][/U]: With General rule 4 making an allowance for the [I]finesse[/I] property, this rule simply stops General rule 3 from encompassing [U]all[/U] [B]melee weapons[/B]. The table of weapons acts as a specific rule, and is the only place where the assumptions of General rule 1 might be challenged. However, lacking any specific instances where a weapon is considered both a [B]melee weapon[/B] and a [B]ranged weapon[/B], we are forced to conclude that General rule 1 is true in all cases: every weapon is either a [B]melee weapon[/B] or a [B]ranged weapon[/B], regardless of whether it's currently being used to make a [B]melee weapon attack[/B] or a [B]ranged weapon attack[/B]. Thus, we have the following rules regarding weapons and weapon attacks: 1. Every weapon is either a [B]melee weapon[/B] or a [B]ranged weapon[/B]. 2. You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and damage roll when attacking with a [B]melee weapon[/B], whether the attack is a [B]melee attack[/B] or [B]ranged attack[/B]. If a weapon has the [I]finesse[/I] property, you use your choice of Strength or Dexterity for its attack and damage rolls. 3. You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack and damage roll when attacking with a [B]ranged weapon[/B], whether the attack is a [B]ranged attack[/B] or a [B]melee attack[/B]. If a weapon has the [I]finesse[/I] property, you use your choice of Strength or Dexterity for its attack and damage rolls. 4. A [B]ranged weapon[/B] with the [I]ammunition[/I] property used to make a [B]melee attack[/B] is considered an improvised weapon, and uses the rules described therein. [/SBLOCK] Phew, glad that's done with. I'm afraid that no weapon can belong to the subsets of both a [B]melee weapon[/B] and a [B]ranged weapon[/B]; the rules are extremely clear on that. The reason the bolded text you called out is there is to give a(n extremely) rough guideline as to what ranged and melee weapons are before going into further detail later on in the book. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Chucking daggers: how do we throw two?
Top