Clerics and Holy Symbols

All,

How does a cleric's holy symbol come in to play when they cast a spell? Does the cleric only have to be wearing it? Do they have to have the holy symbol in their hand when they cast a spell? Can they have a weapon and shield in hand and still cast a spell?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SRD said:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any).

Somatic (S): A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.
Divine Focus (DF): A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character’s faith.

It seems to me that the somatic component text is deliberately specific about what condition you need. Conversely, the divine focus component has a lower requirement of "manipulating" the component. For a spell that has a DF (or M) component but no S, I believe you only need to be able to reach the item with one hand.
 

Starglim said:
Conversely, the divine focus component has a lower requirement of "manipulating" the component. For a spell that has a DF (or M) component but no S, I believe you only need to be able to reach the item with one hand.

Notice that while grappling, you specifically must have a focus component in hand.

-Hyp.
 

A Focus needs to be just as accessible as a spell component pouch. Thus just as sunder-able.

A common tactic is to wear the focus as a necklace inside of clothing and armor, using a move action to Manipulate an Item so the focus is accessible once in the dungeon/dangerous area. .

The Divine focus is the specific piece of equipment form the list in the PHB, though a very common house rule is to extend Divine Focus to include religious symbols drawn, painted, enameled or etched onto other equipment items.
.
 

Remove ads

Top