Creatures that Pounce, Rake & Improved Grab - I need clarifications.

Ferox4

First Post
When a creature Pounces (Ex) does it merely need to hit with ANY of its attacks to Rake (Ex)? If so, doesn't it seem useless to have Improved Grab (Ex) which only allows a Rake if the bite attack hits?

Also, under Rake it says that a creature can rake attack a held opponent. Does that mean only an oppoenent it has successfully grabbed using the Improved Grab (Ex)?

And, ad nauseum, if a creature Pounces on an opponent is that apponent considered hel in the subsequent rounds?

Please advise. I must be missing something(s).

:confused:

edited for content
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

As currently written, Pounce lets the critter (usually a feline of some sort) make a full attack after a charge, including two Rake attacks. It's not necessary for any of the claw/claw/bite attacks to hit for the Rake attacks to go off.
On subsequent rounds, unless the big cat charges a new foe, if it wants to rake it first must get a hold with a successful bite attack and free grapple check (from Improved Grab). Then it can Rake each round as long as it maintains the hold.

The rules aren't clear on whether the to-hit bonus from the Charge applies to all the attacks or only the first one. (The rules for charging weren't written with multiple attacks in mind.)

With an intelligent feline (e.g., a wildshaped druid) this can be pretty devastating. Give him a few levels of rogue and he can get sneak attack damage 5x/round. Had a wereleopard rogue take out a high-level wizard that way - she won initiative, Pounced him while he was still flatfooted, and claw/claw/bite/rake/rake for mega sneak attack dice. He was catfood before he knew what hit him.
 

Remove ads

Top