Cultist NPC Class and domain question

Twin Rose

First Post
I am working on including the Cultist NPC class in a work, and fleshing out some specific rules for their use. However, as I play with the class, I have instances where a cultist reaches a certain level and then becomes a cleric instead.

The cultist receives 2 domains, just like the cleric does. Do I then continue with the same 2 domains, as I did with the cultist, or may I select 2 new domains from the deities list?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Actually, no, it's an NPC class presented in Freeport: City of Adventure by Green Ronin. I have just expounded upon it under the terms of the OGL, and added lots of rules and rituals. But this one question has been bothering me. At first I didn't think much of it, but then when I started creating a sample character using Campaign SUite, the domain box popped up when I added the cleric class and that got me thinking.
 

The domains only apply to the spell list and spells per day for the class it was taken for. Aka, your cleric spells would benefit from the 2 domains came from the cleric class and your cultist spells would benefit from the 2 domains that came from the cultist class.

Interesting idea though, mind posting it when you're done?
 

Sollir Furryfoot said:
The domains only apply to the spell list and spells per day for the class it was taken for. Aka, your cleric spells would benefit from the 2 domains came from the cleric class and your cultist spells would benefit from the 2 domains that came from the cultist class.

Interesting idea though, mind posting it when you're done?

Yes, but domains affect your characters in other ways - can turn elementals, exotic weapon proficiencies, saving throw bonuses - do these, therefore, stack?
 

If the class simply gives you extra turnings, yes. You still use your normal class level for domain abilities, or character level (for domains like Strength). But yes, some stack and some don't. Stuff that grants class skills like trickery does by its wording.

Specifically: Proficiencies stack, Saving Throws may or may not depending on their type of bonus (if different or unnamed, then yes)
 

Sollir Furryfoot said:
If the class simply gives you extra turnings, yes. You still use your normal class level for domain abilities, or character level (for domains like Strength). But yes, some stack and some don't. Stuff that grants class skills like trickery does by its wording.

Specifically: Proficiencies stack, Saving Throws may or may not depending on their type of bonus (if different or unnamed, then yes)

Hmm, I should be clearer of what I'm talking about.

Level 6 cultist selects 2 domains, Death and trickery. He then advances to level 7, choosing the cleric class. Does he now select 2 additional domains?

Death and trickery each grant special abilities - as do the two new domains? If they are selected, that is. Maybe I should email Green Ronin and ask. :)
 


Alright, I think I'll go with the fact that they DO get extra domains then. Seems a touch powerful, perhaps.
 
Last edited:

No worries... even with four different domain powers, the cultist stays relatively weak compared to a full cleric.

He's good at what he does, but weak otherwise.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top