D&D 3E/3.5 [D&D 3.5] Leopard's Pounce

seandon4

First Post
Hi all: This is one of those things where's there's many interpretations and wonder if the record could be set straight; I know it's up to the GM, but is there an official ruling from WoTC or in Dragon's Magazine perhaps on the following?

Looking through these other threads, there are various ways 3.5's Leopard's Pounce has been interpreted:

  • community.wizards.com/content/forum-topic/2403596
  • giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=162818
  • enworld.org/forum/showthread.php?81017-Rake-and-Pounce-confusion-2004-Thread
  • d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#rake

Summary:
1) Some believe that "full attack including two racks" means the racks replace the normal 2 claws; this would be more true to the original 3.0 version of the rule "can move and still get full attack", so 3 attacks total.

2) Others believe that include means "plus" 2 racks, for a total of 5 attacks: 1 bite, 2 front paws, 2 back paws; they argue that there are many such "combinations" in D&D 3.5/PF.

2) Still others think that it depends on weather or not the initial attack is successful: if the first attack hits, then the foe is "grappled" and so the leopard can then rack as well. All these assume that the normal grapple check is superseded by the special attack.

*Also is the +2 from the charge added only to the first attack or all the attacks?

Thank you in advance
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It seems fairly straightforward. Rake is defined as a separate attack, so there's no reason why it would replace the claw attacks. And Pounce makes no mention of grappling, so there's no reason why the leopard would need to attempt a grapple check in order to be able to rake on a pounce.

So, pretty solidly option 2 (the first option 2 in your list): It gets to do a full bite-claw-claw attack and two rake attacks.

Whether it would get +2 to all attacks is another question, since the basic Charge rules are written with only a single attack in mind, and Pounce isn't clear on what changes when you make a full attack. Personally I'd say yes, all attacks are at +2, but that's a judgement call - the rules are ambiguous.
 

I always thought it was weird that 3.x, despite having insanely detailed and complex rules, fails to answer some really basic questions.

Based on another interpretation of the rules, it could be:

  • The leopard uses the charge action (move 2x speed and make a single attack with a +2 bonus).
  • The Pounce ability says that the creature can "follow with a full attack" (2 claws + 1 bite).
  • Rake says it "normally" requires a grapple, but Pounce clearly says you can use rake attacks, so that's 2 additional claw attacks.

Total:
1 Bite attack with +2 for charging
1 normal Bite attack
4 Claw attacks
 

Remove ads

Top