Damage stacking with Barbarian

Morthos

First Post
I got a Rageblood Barbarian.

I use his daily power Bloodhunt Rage and enter the rage of the bloodhunt which gives me a bonus to melee attack rolls equal to my con modifier as long as I or the target am bloodied.

Next turn I use my encounter power, Avalanche Strike, which is 3(W) + Str mod(4) + Con mod(4) (Rageblood Vigor) + Con mod (Bloodhunt Rage)

So thats 3(d12) + 12 for damage if I hit, huh? Is this valid? I know the rule is that bonuses don't stack but I don't really see anything incorrect here. The only thing that throws me off is adding the con mod twice. Can anyone help me out?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The rule is not that bonuses stack. It's that bonuses from the same source/type don't stack. So, you can't get the bonus from something like Sacred Flame twice, because it's the same source. You also can't get two typed feat bonuses to damage, because they're typed.

So, in the case you outlined there's nothing wrong with getting the bonus from CON twice as long as neither one is typed. If they both say "power bonus" or something like that, it won't work...but if thy're untyped, then it's fine. It seems strange, but it's no different than applying your STR bonus twice if you're using Tide of Iron (1[W] + STR mod damage) with a Dragonborn Fighter that has the Draconic Arrogance feat (adds STR mod damage when you push an enemy or knock them prone). You apply the STR mod damage twice, but one time is from a power and one is from a feat, and both are untyped, so it's fine.
 

Remove ads

Top