Deflect in SWRPG

Menexenus

First Post
Hi all. I'm an old D&D player but a new Star Wars RPG player. I've got 3 questions about the Jedi Deflect Special Ability.
First, the text says that "deflecting an attack is a reaction that costs the Jedi a move action in his next round," but what if a character knows he wants to activate his Deflect ability on his own turn and has a move-equivalent action left over? Can he choose to use *this* turn's move action to activate the deflect, or does the move action *have* to come from the next round? (My guess: it must come from the next round.)
Second, if a Jedi has activated the Deflect ability and lost his move action in the next round, is he still able to take a 2 meter step in the next round? (My guess: no, you can't take a 2 meter step.)
Third, the rules indicate that a character can use Deflect (defend) and deflect (attack) in the same round. If a character does so, does he lose only his move action in the next round, or does he lose his entire next round because he has spent *2* move-equivalent actions (one for defend and one for attack)? (My guess: only one move-equivalent action is spent to activate both deflect abilities.)

Thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

First off, to use the deflect action you *MUST* use a move action from your next round. This means you're either moving and deflecting or attacking and deflecting (or whatever you choose to do with your other action). Second, I'd say that you can still take a 2-meter step in the next round, as a 2-meter step is usually considered a free action, and would still make sense as I could visualize a jedi taking a step to the right to swiftly cut down a battle droid or something like that. As for your third question, I'm not entirely sure. I think your guess is correct, as that's the way I've always played it, but I don't have a definitive answer for you.
 

I play it the same way that Mr Blob does, although I'm not sure about the official ruling on the 2m step.
 

I think you can always take a 2m step unless you are immobile for some reason.

moving and deflecting or attacking and deflecting

Of course you might want to make your move a 'charge' so you can move/attack and deflect.
 

AmorphousBlob said:
Second, I'd say that you can still take a 2-meter step in the next round, as a 2-meter step is usually considered a free action, and would still make sense as I could visualize a jedi taking a step to the right to swiftly cut down a battle droid or something like that.

Them 2m steps could also be used in conjunction with the total defense option to slowly advance down a corridor towards your foes deflecting blaster shots until you get in melee range ... assuming your assailants don't cut and run before your lightsaber starts trimming their fingernails at the elbow, thta is. :D
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top