discharge of touch spell with mirror image

npiccini

Explorer
What happens in combat when someone with a charged touch spell attempts to touch someone with mirror image but instead targets an image. I know it is much easier to hit the image, but does that discharge the spell? One side of the arguement would be yes, because the contact of hitting the image, makes that image disappear AND dischargess the spell. The other side would be, no because there isnt really anythign there to touch so the spell will not be released but the image passing through your hands would dispel that single image. How would people rule on that one?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Personally, I would have an attack spell discharge in order to disrupt the mirror image.

There's an entry in the 3.0 FAQ that says spells with a "Target(s)" listing, or an "Effect" that requires an attack roll, will disrupt a mirror image. I agree with that, and I assume that a unit of the spell actually has to be expended to make that happen.
 

Someone with a charged touch attack can touch as much air as they want, including on missed attacks, without losing the charge. Of course, "If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. "
Mirror Images are destroyed when "struck", without the need of a spell. I don't think that counts as touching anything, though, as there is nothing there.

My take would be that a character could attack a mirror image each round, destroying those they hit, and when they found that an attack actually yielded a physical target, they could discharge the touch spell.
 


Hypersmurf said:
Message! :D

-Hyp.

I would have no problem with that. The caster still has to waste a round casting something that will interact with an image. Think of it as the combat effect of telemarketing.
;)

Here's another thought: If you try to cast a healing spell on a mirror imaged ally, do you risk hitting an image, disrupting it and blowing your spell?

--Axe
 

Pickaxe said:
I would have no problem with that. The caster still has to waste a round casting something that will interact with an image. Think of it as the combat effect of telemarketing.

The nice thing about Message is that it can hit all the images simultaneously (1/level, no cap), as opposed to Magic Missile, which can do a maximum of 5.

Unless you play Mirror Image as written, instead of using the FAQ, of course ;)

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top