Disease DC's

Is the DC for catching a disease the same as the daily DC for resisting its effects or recovering from it? For example, in the MM under Dire Rats, it says "Filth fever - Fortitude DC 11.... The save DC is Constitution-based."

In the DMG, under Disease, it says "Filth fever - DC 12."

Is the MM Con-based DC the DC against contracting the illness, while the DMG DC 12 is used for everything else? Or does the MM value override the "default" DMG values?

The Spectrum Rider
 

log in or register to remove this ad


This is another case of 3.5 changing a rule in some places but not others. In the 3.0 books it's DC 12 in both places (MM p. 58 & DMG p. 75).

It's supposed to be the same (no language is given about different saves for different purposes). It appears the key difference is that 3.5 decided to make the DC Con-adjusted, while in 3.0 it was fixed per disease.

Under the 3.5 overarching Errata Zero entry of "wherever we screw up, use the most on-topic book", it seems you should use the altered MM rule of DC 11 for normal filth fever. (Personally I stick with 3.0.)
 
Last edited:

dcollins said:
This is another case of 3.5 changing a rule in some places but not others. In the 3.0 books it's DC 12 in both places (MM p. 58 & DMG p. 75).

It's supposed to be the same (no language is given about different saves for different purposes). It appears the key difference is that 3.5 decided to make the DC Con-adjusted, while in 3.0 it was fixed per disease.

Under the 3.5 overarching Errata Zero entry of "wherever we screw up, use the most on-topic book", it seems you should use the altered MM rule of DC 11 for normal filth fever. (Personally I stick with 3.0.)

Yeppers- they changed it in the MM so the disease is Con-based on whatever monster can transmit it.

Perhaps the DMG still uses fixed DCs for times when DMs want to assign diseases to things other than monsters...things without a Con....like perhaps a trap...or perhaps when a party decides to wallow in trash or garbage or whatever (filth fever for example here).

Doesnt necessarily mean one book is wrong or that they changed the rule in one place but not the other. Perhaps they just didnt explain it very well or something.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top