Dispel Magic Ques

Stalker0

Legend
My group is wondering if we've been using dispel magic wrong for years.

We've always played it that a targetted dispel magic has a chance to dispel all buffs and such on the person, and all of his magic items.

However, we reread it and the spell mentions you can target a creature OR an object, so it would seem you have to target the magic item itself to dispel it.

So could someone explain how it works?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Stalker0 said:
My group is wondering if we've been using dispel magic wrong for years.

We've always played it that a targetted dispel magic has a chance to dispel all buffs and such on the person, and all of his magic items.

However, we reread it and the spell mentions you can target a creature OR an object, so it would seem you have to target the magic item itself to dispel it.

So could someone explain how it works?

When you say "dispel it" where "it" refers to the magic item, are you talking about dispelling any enchantments cast upon it, or suppressing the magic of the item itself?

I've always ruled that a targetted Dispel Magic had a chance of dispelling each spell present on the target, and on any of the target's gear (such as Greater Magic Weapon and/or Magic Vestment).

The alternate ruling I've seen on these boards is to treat gear as separate entities for the purposes of the targetting, which would invalidate them from a targetted dispel magic on a character, but make them valid targets, individually, if caught in an area dispel.

In either case, magic items are not suppressed unless specifically targetted.
 

Lord Pendragon covered it perfectly. For what it's worth, I use his method of a targeted Dispel having a chance to dispel spells on the target and his equipment.
 

shilsen said:
Lord Pendragon covered it perfectly. For what it's worth, I use his method of a targeted Dispel having a chance to dispel spells on the target and his equipment.

My question is not about spells on equipment, but magical equipment itself.

For example, lets you have bull's strength, shield of faith, and a +2 natural armor amulet on. THe person gets hit by dispel magic. Does:

1) The bull's strength, shield of faith get a chance to be dispelled, and the amulet a chance to be suppressed.

2) Only the bull's strength and shield of faith get dispel rolls, the amulet is not affected unless its targetted.
 



Although, if you have something like say, Boots of Speed, and you activate them and someone hits you with dispel magic while the haste is activated, does the dispel have a chance to stop it? I know a weapon of speed wouldn't be affected, but Boots of Speed actually activate a haste effect on you, and it is not a continuous effect.

Same question for a ring of invisibility. You're not shutting down the item itself, but an active spell that it has cast on the wearer.
 

Regarding items, I interpret a targetted dispel magic on a character to include active spells on items attended, wielded, or being worn by a character (such a greater magic weapon or magic vestment). I do not believe that should extend to suppressing permanent magical effects on the item that are not the result of a spell.
 

Kmart Kommando said:
Although, if you have something like say, Boots of Speed, and you activate them and someone hits you with dispel magic while the haste is activated, does the dispel have a chance to stop it? I know a weapon of speed wouldn't be affected, but Boots of Speed actually activate a haste effect on you, and it is not a continuous effect.

Same question for a ring of invisibility. You're not shutting down the item itself, but an active spell that it has cast on the wearer.
Yes, in both cases. Those are spells being cast on the user via the item, so they can be dispelled like any others on him.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top