Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="eamon" data-source="post: 5005553" data-attributes="member: 51942"><p>That clause is for subsequent rounds. In the first round, you cannot challenge a new target; but the rules apply to each round: and on subsequent rounds you <em>do</em> have the option to continue engaging your current target <em>or</em> to challenge a new target (which in turn you must engage).</p><p></p><p>Without the "or challenge a new target" clause, the rules specify a penalty if you fail to engage; they specify that the power ends when you challenge a different target - but they don't (clearly) specify that the penalty is avoided by when you challenge a new target.</p><p></p><p>I've advocated before on the 4e errata forum that this way of putting things is confusing and hard to grasp, but with the current set-up that clause is necessary for at least some semblance of clarity.</p><p></p><p>If it said that, then you would need to engage the <em>current target of the power</em>. Using the power on another target would not release you from this requirement - at least not clearly. If they'd additionally noted something to the extent of "until the challenge has ended", it'd be sufficiently clear, and it would intuitively work the way you expect when overwritten by another mark or whatnot.</p><p></p><p>The consequences of one usage of a power can clearly impact a later usage of that power. However, these consequences are an explicit part of the text that is evaluated for every single usage of the power. Each usage of the power can be interpreted solely within the context of the current game situation. </p><p></p><p>So, for instance, in your example with an additional bonus for CA, the line "You receive an additional +2 to hit with this power if you have Combat Advantage" does <em>not</em> modify the power itself, it modifies the current usage. Just because you have CA <em>now, </em>for this usage, doesn't mean the <em>power</em> gains a +2bonus - just that single <em>usage</em>. When you use the power again next turn you don't get a +2 to hit some other target you don't have CA against.</p><p></p><p>Similarly for divine challenge. Yes, the text is much more confusing, but that shouldn't distract from the fact that any given usage is to be read solely within the context of the game as it is at the moment that that usage is performed. So when the game says that on your turn you must do something related to the target of divine challenge (<em>impose a -2 penalty, smack em with radiant if they violate the mark, - oh, and engage or challenge someone else</em>), you need to do that thing for any given usage of the power.</p><p></p><p>Every target gets the -2; every target gets radiant damage if they violate your mark; every target forces you to engage it or challenge someone else.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="eamon, post: 5005553, member: 51942"] That clause is for subsequent rounds. In the first round, you cannot challenge a new target; but the rules apply to each round: and on subsequent rounds you [I]do[/I] have the option to continue engaging your current target [I]or[/I] to challenge a new target (which in turn you must engage). Without the "or challenge a new target" clause, the rules specify a penalty if you fail to engage; they specify that the power ends when you challenge a different target - but they don't (clearly) specify that the penalty is avoided by when you challenge a new target. I've advocated before on the 4e errata forum that this way of putting things is confusing and hard to grasp, but with the current set-up that clause is necessary for at least some semblance of clarity. If it said that, then you would need to engage the [I]current target of the power[/I]. Using the power on another target would not release you from this requirement - at least not clearly. If they'd additionally noted something to the extent of "until the challenge has ended", it'd be sufficiently clear, and it would intuitively work the way you expect when overwritten by another mark or whatnot. The consequences of one usage of a power can clearly impact a later usage of that power. However, these consequences are an explicit part of the text that is evaluated for every single usage of the power. Each usage of the power can be interpreted solely within the context of the current game situation. So, for instance, in your example with an additional bonus for CA, the line "You receive an additional +2 to hit with this power if you have Combat Advantage" does [I]not[/I] modify the power itself, it modifies the current usage. Just because you have CA [I]now, [/I]for this usage, doesn't mean the [I]power[/I] gains a +2bonus - just that single [I]usage[/I]. When you use the power again next turn you don't get a +2 to hit some other target you don't have CA against. Similarly for divine challenge. Yes, the text is much more confusing, but that shouldn't distract from the fact that any given usage is to be read solely within the context of the game as it is at the moment that that usage is performed. So when the game says that on your turn you must do something related to the target of divine challenge ([I]impose a -2 penalty, smack em with radiant if they violate the mark, - oh, and engage or challenge someone else[/I]), you need to do that thing for any given usage of the power. Every target gets the -2; every target gets radiant damage if they violate your mark; every target forces you to engage it or challenge someone else. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?
Top