Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Hypersmurf" data-source="post: 5006146" data-attributes="member: 1656"><p>Did the event "You challenged a target different to Target A" occur during your turn? Yes, it did. Therefore Challenge A is satisfied.</p><p></p><p>Did the event "You challenged a target different to Target B" occur during your turn? No, it didn't. Therefore Challenge B is not satisfied unless you engaged Target B, and the challenge is lost.</p><p></p><p><em>On your turn, you must engage the target you challenged or challenge a different target. To engage the target, you must either attack it or end your turn adjacent to it. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.</em></p><p></p><p>How does this read when we use Divine Challenge on Target A?</p><p></p><p><em>On your turn, you must engage Target A or challenge someone other than Target A. To engage the Target A, you must either attack Target A or end your turn adjacent to Target A. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.</em></p><p></p><p>How does this read when we use Divine Challenge on Target B?</p><p></p><p><em>On your turn, you must engage Target B or challenge someone other than Target B. To engage the Target B, you must either attack Target B or end your turn adjacent to Target B. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.</em></p><p></p><p>In our example, we have not satisfied the requirements of the challenge on Target B.</p><p></p><p>When you use Divine Challenge on Target B, start reading the Divine Challenge text. Don't mix up things that happened under the previous challenge with things that must happen under the current challenge.</p><p></p><p>I use Divine Challenge on Target B this round. Have I challenged a different target this round? No - the only target I've challenged this round is Target B. The fact that Target B is different to the target of an entirely separate use of Divine Challenge is irrelevant <em>to the conditions of the challenge on Target B</em>.</p><p></p><p>-Hyp.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Hypersmurf, post: 5006146, member: 1656"] Did the event "You challenged a target different to Target A" occur during your turn? Yes, it did. Therefore Challenge A is satisfied. Did the event "You challenged a target different to Target B" occur during your turn? No, it didn't. Therefore Challenge B is not satisfied unless you engaged Target B, and the challenge is lost. [i]On your turn, you must engage the target you challenged or challenge a different target. To engage the target, you must either attack it or end your turn adjacent to it. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.[/i] How does this read when we use Divine Challenge on Target A? [i]On your turn, you must engage Target A or challenge someone other than Target A. To engage the Target A, you must either attack Target A or end your turn adjacent to Target A. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.[/i] How does this read when we use Divine Challenge on Target B? [i]On your turn, you must engage Target B or challenge someone other than Target B. To engage the Target B, you must either attack Target B or end your turn adjacent to Target B. If none of these events occur by the end of your turn, the marked condition ends and you can’t use divine challenge on your next turn.[/i] In our example, we have not satisfied the requirements of the challenge on Target B. When you use Divine Challenge on Target B, start reading the Divine Challenge text. Don't mix up things that happened under the previous challenge with things that must happen under the current challenge. I use Divine Challenge on Target B this round. Have I challenged a different target this round? No - the only target I've challenged this round is Target B. The fact that Target B is different to the target of an entirely separate use of Divine Challenge is irrelevant [i]to the conditions of the challenge on Target B[/i]. -Hyp. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?
Top