Divine Feats Question

Markn

Explorer
Apolgies if this has been asked recently.

Can someone confirm that expending a Turn/Rebuke Undead attempt to use a Divine Feat is a standard action unless noted otherwise? If its not, what is it? If possible, please list where I can find this info.

Much appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Wow. 27 people have read this and no one has replied. Are people unsure? Do they have no source to quote?

How about this:

1. How are people doing this? Does it take a standard, move or free action to expend a turn/rebuke undead to activate a Divine Feat? If so, what is your reasoning?

2. If you have a source to quote, please quote it. If it is your own rule, please state that too.

Thanks.
 

By default all abilities take standard actions. This is because all abilities fall into either extraordinary, spell-like, or supernatural and if you look at the action subsection of the combat section it defines those actions as standard(in the table).
 

As Folly noted above, (Su) actions are typically standard actions.

srd said:
Using a supernatural ability is a standard action unless noted otherwise.

Feats like Divine Spell Power are free actions to use (which in the case of DSP is very important, as it means you can use it multiple times within the same round); other feats might be standard actions or part of an attack action.

Is there a particular divine feat that doesn't say? Even feats that take a standard action tend to say "You can take a standard action and expend a turn attempt to . . . "
 

I find that most Divine Feats don't specify that they require a standard action - they just say to expend a turn undead attempt. I can't think of the ones I am concerned about off the top of my head (I'm at work, and hardly working :) ).

On a side note (again becuase I am at work) does a Paladin's Smite ability require a standard action (and therefore you can only make one attack that round) or can you use it as part of a full attack action?

Anyways, thanks for the replies.
 

Hmm . . .

srd said:
Smite Evil (Su)

Once per day, a paladin may attempt to smite evil with one normal melee attack. She adds her Charisma bonus (if any) to her attack roll and deals 1 extra point of damage per paladin level. If the paladin accidentally smites a creature that is not evil, the smite has no effect, but the ability is still used up for that day.

It seems to be saying it's part of an attack. I can see an argument that it allows you to make an attack as a standard action, but I can also see an argument that it is made as part of making the attack (and can thus be included in a full attack, though the other attacks won't be smites.)
 

FWIW, we have always played it as part of attacking (whether you only have 1 attack or are making 4 attacks however it still only happens on one of those 4 attacks).

Thanks again.

Edited for clearer wording...
 

Markn said:
FWIW, we have always played it as part of attacking.

Thanks again.

Sure.

FWIW, that's how we play it.

The "standard action" argument goes like this: Su abilities are always standard actions unless indicated otherwise, and the entry does not specifically indicate otherwise.

The "part of an attack" argument is that the text "with one normal melee attack" indicates that the smite is part of an attack, so the entry does specifically indicate that it is not a normal standard action.
 


The smite question has seen a lot of debate at various times. I myself treat it as part of the pc's attack, and will allow multiple smites per round (up to one per attack).
 

Remove ads

Top