D&D 3E/3.5 Divine Metamagic (3.5)


log in or register to remove this ad

If I knew what in the world you meant by DMM I might be able to answer your question.

Using acronyms for the most important concept in your question is not the most effective strategy for getting quick, accurate answers.
 


The way I understand metamagic to work, you could apply divine metamagic to the spells being placed IN the wand, as it is being made, but not as you were casting FROM the wand.

Also, since it is divine, you could only apply it to divine spells, not to arcane spells. Ie to Cure Light Wounds, not Magic Missile.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong!
 

I couldn't find if it specifically forbidden, but I would rule that no, a caster's metamagic feats could not be applied to spell trigger / spell completion items.

Gilladian's first point is specifically mentioned. That you may, at item creation, imbue a wand / scroll whatever with a spell modified by metamagic feats.

Magic items and metamagic spells

I would add though, that metamagic feats (at least core ones anyway) are not delineated by divine / arcane descriptors. (i.e. extend spell is extend spell, not arcane extend spell or divine extend spell)

Unless the feat specifically mentions that it was good for a particular type of magic, I would allow the caster to use it with any spell.

Think of a multi-classed wizard/cleric, for example.
 

Divine metamagic is not a metamagic feat. It is a divine feat.

And it allows you to apply a metamagic feat that you know on the spot to the spell so it doesn't have to be prepared beforehand. (without increasing the spell level.)

It says you can apply it to a spell you are casting so I assume that wands are considered spells that you are casting.
 


Divine metamagic is not a metamagic feat. It is a divine feat.

And it allows you to apply a metamagic feat that you know on the spot to the spell so it doesn't have to be prepared beforehand. (without increasing the spell level.)

It says you can apply it to a spell you are casting so I assume that wands are considered spells that you are casting.


Divine metamagic is very similar in mechanism to a spontaneous caster's use of metamagic, with the exception that it's powered off of turning attempts and thus doesn't change the level of the spell. In other words, it's the same metamagic feat being used (thus why you need to already have that feat when you take DMM), but is just powered through a different source.

Therefore, I don't think that the requirements or functionality of the metamagic that you are applying would change at all; it simply doesn't increase the spell level. Thus it would work just like a sorcerer applying metamagic to a spell. I think that if you allow sorcerers or other spontaneous casters to apply their metamagic to wands, then DMM would follow the same path. My campaign doesn't allow this, so we would not allow DMM to apply to wands.
 



Remove ads

Top