Divine Sacrifice and Critical Hits

Saladrex

First Post
Hello all,

Is the damage added by Divine Sacrifice multiplied by a critical hit? And Why?

Ex: A paladin using 6 Hit points on Divine Sacrifice would get +3d6 on his damage. Suppose he confirms a critical. Would those 3d6 be doubled?

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


My gamers and I had this conversation last year and, although the PHB states that extra-damage does not figure into critical hits, we also noticed that in all cases, the decription reminds the reader of this fact. This is not the case with divine sacrifice.

Unfortunately I don't have the book here with me (I'll check it tonight), but I think in Defenders of the Faith that there is no indication of what kind of extra damage divine sacrifice causes... As a result, we allowed it to crit...
 

The Serge said:
we also noticed that in all cases, the decription reminds the reader of this fact. This is not the case with divine sacrifice.

So? The rule is as stated in the PHB. There is no indication that an exception should be made in this case.
 

hong said:


So? The rule is as stated in the PHB. There is no indication that an exception should be made in this case.

So? There are many rules that are questionable (like how to kill a Vampire with a stake when they're immune to critical hits). There is no indication either way, so it's up to the DM to adjudicate the lack of a specific rule to his/her liking.
 

But how exactly is the rule questionable? Extra damage dice are never multiplied on a critical, only straight numeric values are multiplied.

Could you explain why it's unclear? Perhaps I missed your point. :confused:
 

novyet said:
Extra damage dice are never multiplied on a critical, only straight numeric values are multiplied.

Well, not to be nit-picky, but actually, extra damage dice are occasionally multiplied, in the case of 'bursting' weapons. Therefore, a +1 shocking burst greataxe does 1d12+1d6+1 on a normal hit, and 3d12+1d6+2d10+3 on a critical hit.

Not relevant to the topic at hand, just a fact.:)
 
Last edited:

Well, of you were nit-picky you'd notice that the shocking burst axe example is one of added dice, not multiplied dice (with the obvious exception of the base d12). :)

But, as has been stated, extra dice are never multiplied in a critical. The reminders that exist in certain cases (sneak attack, etc) are just that: reminders of a broader rule.
 

Remove ads

Top