Diving Charge?

Lord Pendragon

First Post
This quote came up in another thread, but brought up something that I'd like to find out, if possible.
Krelios said:
Don't forget the Diving Charge option and a flying mount! (Lance + (STR x 1.5)+Magic+(PowerAttack x 2))x4
srd said:
A creature that flies can make dive attacks. A dive attack works just like a charge, but the diving creature must move a minimum of 30 feet and descend at least 10 feet. It can make only claw or talon attacks, but these deal double damage.
My DM has ruled that like a charge, if a diving creature bears a rider, the rider also benefits from the dive as if it were a charge. And of course a flying creature can simply charge, just as any other creature can, through the air.

Krelios' quote however mentions a "diving charge" option, with a x4 modifier, which I haven't been able to find in the rules. Does anyone know what this refers to? Where can I find this option and the rules that govern it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think there might be an error. There is a Diving Charge feat in Races of the Wild, but it provides a bonus to damage ranging from +1d6 to +3d6 (depending on fly speed), instead of an increased multiplier.
 

Also, don't forget that doing a diving charge does NOT mean you won't hit the ground at high speed at end of the charge - you must have enogh maneuverability to pull up or you smack into the ground.
 
Last edited:

Artoomis said:
Also, don't forget that doing a diving charge does NOT mean you won't hit the ground at high spped at end of the charge - you must have enogh maneuverability to pull up or you smack into the ground.
You use the phrase "diving charge." Are you referring to the feat FireLance mentioned, or something else?

And yeah, I realize the maneuver would be tricky with a poorly maneuverable mount. Luckily I don't have to worry about it, as my PC's mount is about as maneuverable as a housefly or hummingbird. :)
 

The Monster Manual glossary describes a dive attack:

SRD
===
Movement Modes: [...]
Fly: [...]
A creature that flies can make dive attacks. A dive attack works just like a charge, but the diving creature must move a minimum of 30 feet and descend at least 10 feet. It can make only claw or talon attacks, but these deal double damage. [...]
===

There is a Rules of the Game article which expands on this:
===
Flying creatures can use the charge action. A flying charge must be in straight line and most cover at least 10 feet (2 squares). A flyer can charge while diving, but not while gaining more than 5 feet altitude (unless the flyer has perfect maneuverability and can climb without losing speed).

If a flyer makes a diving charge of at least 30 feet (6 squares) and also loses 10 feet of altitude or more, it can attack only with a claw or with a piercing or slashing weapon. These attacks, however, deal double damage.
===
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040706a

This RotG article invented that bit about a piercing or slashing weapon, seemingly out of thin air. Ditto for the part about "A flyer can charge while diving, but not while gaining more than 5 feet altitude (unless the flyer has perfect maneuverability and can climb without losing speed)." (This is yet another reason to completely disregard the RotG articles.)

Your DM is inventing that bit about the rider benefiting from a diving charge. If you use this, combined with the rule that Skip invented in the RotG article, combined with Spirited Charge (x3 damage with a mounted lance charge), you could get x4 damage with a lance during a mounted diving charge, or x6 on a critical hit.
 

kjenks said:
Your DM is inventing that bit about the rider benefiting from a diving charge.
To clarify, my DM hasn't said anything about a "diving charge." My DM has ruled that if the mount is diving (which is mechanically very similar to a charge,) then the rider gains the benefits of a charge. This is an extension of the fact that if a mount charges, the rider gains the benefits of the charge. My DM hasn't made any rulings or House Rulings regarding a "diving charge." I'd never even heard the term until today.
If you use this, combined with the rule that Skip invented in the RotG article, combined with Spirited Charge (x3 damage with a mounted lance charge), you could get x4 damage with a lance during a mounted diving charge, or x6 on a critical hit.
Yes, the RotG article you quoted (thank you! :)) must have been where the original comment came from. I don't think I'll be bringing this to my DM. It's just not solid enough for me to feel comfortable asking it to be approved.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top