D&D 5E Does a broom of flying take an action to activate?

The broom of flying (DMG p. 156) operates on command words. Most items that use command words seem to specify that they take an action, but the broom doesn't say anything. I also can't find anything in the general magic item rules giving a default for command words. Am I missing some information here (maybe there is unlisted errata in a newer DMG), or is this a hole that hasn't been clarified?

If we don't have any information, how would you run it, and what's your reason?

I've been letting our party use it without an action...but I'm not sure that is correct, especially since the other items that allow flight do require actions. The broom of flying actually has a lot going for it (no attunement, and only uncommon, for instance) so it seems like it might be a bit strong to let you just use it as a pure movement enhancer at the cost of a free hand.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hriston

Dungeon Master of Middle-earth
It looks like there’s no rules-based reason to require an action to activate a broom of flying. All that’s required is to say the command word, which can be done on one’s turn in addition to any action, and that’s how I’d play it.
 

aco175

Legend
I think RAW would be similar to taking a potion where it requires an action. Even though things like drinking a beer off the table and having a conversation is part of your turn, the using a magic item requires an action.

RAI I think I would allow to activate as part of the move action.
 

Hriston

Dungeon Master of Middle-earth
I think RAW would be similar to taking a potion where it requires an action. Even though things like drinking a beer off the table and having a conversation is part of your turn, the using a magic item requires an action.

Where is this rule?

I do think using the broom would count as your object interaction.
 

cmad1977

Hero
It looks like there’s no rules-based reason to require an action to activate a broom of flying. All that’s required is to say the command word, which can be done on one’s turn in addition to any action, and that’s how I’d play it.

Yeah. I’d count any movement used to get to the broom against the movement of the broom on turn 1 but there’s no reason the wonder of the broom can’t run 20’, yell ‘Broomy go!’ En route and then soar off whatever the remaining movement allowance is.
 


S'mon

Legend
Treat like a horse, so mount/dismount takes half your move?

BTW I think this item is exceptionally poorly designed and probably has caused me more trouble than any other. :)
 

Nebulous

Legend
Treat like a horse, so mount/dismount takes half your move?

BTW I think this item is exceptionally poorly designed and probably has caused me more trouble than any other. :)

I'd be afraid to give a party a permanent flying ability. We have an aaracrocka in a game and that has given me all kinds of logistical headaches.
 

Treat like a horse, so mount/dismount takes half your move?

BTW I think this item is exceptionally poorly designed and probably has caused me more trouble than any other. :)
That would make sense if the broom was in the character's hand. However, it's more likely strapped to their back.
 

That would make sense if the broom was in the character's hand. However, it's more likely strapped to their back.
I'd rule that it takes the Use An Object Action to unstrap it and get it ready for use. To use it, you must mount just like a riding animal, which costs movement instead of an Action.

To balance the power of flight, you might rule (as does my current GM) that while riding it you need to use one hand to stay balanced. No two-handed weapon use (which includes bows) while flying.
 



Dungeon Delver's Guide

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top