Does Dive = Charge?

Lord Pendragon

First Post
srd said:
A creature that flies can make dive attacks. A dive attack works just like a charge, but the diving creature must move a minimum of 30 feet and descend at least 10 feet. It can make only claw or talon attacks, but these deal double damage. A creature can use the run action while flying, provided it flies in a straight line.
A fighter wielding a lance is mounted on a griffon, currently flying 30 feet up, 30 feet away from a goblin. The griffon dives onto the goblin. When the griffon is 10' away from the goblin, the fighter makes an attack with his lance.

Does the lance attack deal double-damage?

Say the griffon charges the goblin in a straight line at a 45 degree angle. The fighter makes a lance attack at 10' away. Can the griffon continue its movement 5' further to Pounce on the goblin? Or has the fighter's charge attack (which requires one to stop as soon as one can make an attack) pinned the griffon's movement at 10' away?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


yipes. talk about overkill ;)

i'll answer your second question based on my interpretation.

short answer: yes.

long answer: i'd say that one thing is really doing the actual movement: the griffon. the rules say you can't move, attack, and move again. however here's what's happening for the griffon: charge then attack.

the griffon isn't abruptly stopping to let the rider attack (especially not with a lance). the griffon may continue charging to 5 ft. and take his one attack.

both rider and griffon suffer the typical -2 AC / + 2 attack
 

Remove ads

Top