Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
NOW LIVE! Today's the day you meet your new best friend. You don’t have to leave Wolfy behind... In 'Pets & Sidekicks' your companions level up with you!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Does the term "a creature" include yourself?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Shikami" data-source="post: 5444442" data-attributes="member: 6669047"><p>Very incorrect. You need to understand the semantics here, and you are using defined terms incorrectly. I am also, since I think I need to go beyond these defined terms, will use all the rules that will help with resolution of this and other powers. If I note a page this is all awithin the Rules Compendium. </p><p></p><p>What 106 says is this. A target is one of the three things. A creature, enemy, or ally, UNLESS specifically written in the power. If it is a creature it can be an enemy or ally. It [the power] also does not have the distinct notation of "each creature" which means indiscriminately: there is no distinction between friend or foe. This is to define situations with close and area powers though. As in "Target: Each enemy in blast." If it said "Target: Each creature in blast." The warlock can slide and make his allies fight too, even if they do not want to (This is noted later). It says against a creature. </p><p></p><p>Now, since a creature is a creature of any sort, whether enemy or ally. We have to look at the defined terms of enemy or ally and how this will affect the target of this melee basic attack granted by the power (106). The power says: The target makes a melee basic attack as a free action against a creature of your choice. Note, these free actions are to be treated as Other Triggered Effect (194-197). </p><p></p><p>The target of the Hit effect is the origin square for the MBA which is range melee noted by the melee basic attack. This is range melee 1 unless noted otherwise, not melee 0. Even if the MBA can be melee 0 the target (creature, enemy or ally) is sharing the attacker's space, it is not a personal range (100-101, 239, and 268-269). </p><p></p><p>Any creature even if it is enemy or ally can be targeted by this range melee 1 MBA in the adjacent squares of the origin square . If target of MBA is an ally, and the creature defined term is used for the target of the attack, the ally (which is considered enemy by the hero, the warlock would not want to attack what is considered its own ally for that is punitive) cannot disregard the power's affect.</p><p></p><p>Just 106 prevented the target for targeting itself as a creature because it is not defined. To note, it is also in the literature of the power's resolution-target/<u>against</u>/creature. It is even in the Flavored Text. However, I think you perhaps would rather argue this differently. Like how some comprehend the warlord's power Commander's Strike. Giving the ability of an unconscious ally an ability to attack. This cannot happen since it is not a legitimate target as per rules.</p><p></p><p>To target the target's self you have to have either a specific, or it will say personal but that is actually a distinction for range. And in this is the Uber caveat. The MBA is melee 1 to the adjacent squares of the origin square, not origin square-again cannot target unless specific is given.</p><p></p><p>However, the ultimate rule: it is your game. But I am a purist. So, therefore this power cannot cause the target of the Hit effect to target itself as a creature using what is given by the power, defined terms, and mechanics.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Shikami, post: 5444442, member: 6669047"] Very incorrect. You need to understand the semantics here, and you are using defined terms incorrectly. I am also, since I think I need to go beyond these defined terms, will use all the rules that will help with resolution of this and other powers. If I note a page this is all awithin the Rules Compendium. What 106 says is this. A target is one of the three things. A creature, enemy, or ally, UNLESS specifically written in the power. If it is a creature it can be an enemy or ally. It [the power] also does not have the distinct notation of "each creature" which means indiscriminately: there is no distinction between friend or foe. This is to define situations with close and area powers though. As in "Target: Each enemy in blast." If it said "Target: Each creature in blast." The warlock can slide and make his allies fight too, even if they do not want to (This is noted later). It says against a creature. Now, since a creature is a creature of any sort, whether enemy or ally. We have to look at the defined terms of enemy or ally and how this will affect the target of this melee basic attack granted by the power (106). The power says: The target makes a melee basic attack as a free action against a creature of your choice. Note, these free actions are to be treated as Other Triggered Effect (194-197). The target of the Hit effect is the origin square for the MBA which is range melee noted by the melee basic attack. This is range melee 1 unless noted otherwise, not melee 0. Even if the MBA can be melee 0 the target (creature, enemy or ally) is sharing the attacker's space, it is not a personal range (100-101, 239, and 268-269). Any creature even if it is enemy or ally can be targeted by this range melee 1 MBA in the adjacent squares of the origin square . If target of MBA is an ally, and the creature defined term is used for the target of the attack, the ally (which is considered enemy by the hero, the warlock would not want to attack what is considered its own ally for that is punitive) cannot disregard the power's affect. Just 106 prevented the target for targeting itself as a creature because it is not defined. To note, it is also in the literature of the power's resolution-target/[U]against[/U]/creature. It is even in the Flavored Text. However, I think you perhaps would rather argue this differently. Like how some comprehend the warlord's power Commander's Strike. Giving the ability of an unconscious ally an ability to attack. This cannot happen since it is not a legitimate target as per rules. To target the target's self you have to have either a specific, or it will say personal but that is actually a distinction for range. And in this is the Uber caveat. The MBA is melee 1 to the adjacent squares of the origin square, not origin square-again cannot target unless specific is given. However, the ultimate rule: it is your game. But I am a purist. So, therefore this power cannot cause the target of the Hit effect to target itself as a creature using what is given by the power, defined terms, and mechanics. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Does the term "a creature" include yourself?
Top