Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Does the term "a creature" include yourself?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Shikami" data-source="post: 5446228" data-attributes="member: 6669047"><p>Hammer Time</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I have done so many times. Please, consult previous posts and pages that I commentated.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Pages 105-106</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Perhaps, not intentionally. But intent and action are two different things.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Reading from the Rules Compendium what are you reading? Oh wait, is this Shadowrun?</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You contradict yourself here. Ask yourself this and look at page 220: What does an area burst 2 do? It targets creatures-if that is the target in the power descriptor and lets say that it is. Creature meaning enemy or ally.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I have not claimed I have given examples of the rules, posted the rules, and even given a comprehensive example. As for #3 read my post to Kingreaper.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>It applies perfectly, and over and over have posted rebuttals to this. However, I have answered every question and not once have I changed anything. Some of you have assumed that I have, but are only being illogical with the defined terms given</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You are dodging, or you were being ambiguous. Still the language used did not indicate trivial "as in easy."</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>There is a square it has four points in which to draw a line to the intended target for LoEif in question. Only four possibilities to the other square. Honestly, one does not need to be drawn, which was my point, actually, in my example. It is a clear line. </p><p></p><p>You are thinking permutations. Permutation do not apply here. Note, the example on page 107 does not draw 32 lines to see if it has LoE to the goblin. There are 4 lines-starting from each point of the square-it can draw to the goblin all passing through terrain-No line of effect. And note it says from <u><em><strong>origin square</strong></em></u>.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Hammer Time</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Incorrect and <em>NO </em>this is not verbatim. "Enemy: means opponent of the power's user." Ally: means companion of the power's user. That is verbatim</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Wait not Shadowrun, must be Call of Cthulu.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>So close! What have I been typing in my previous posts? And yes, they are exclusive as they are defined. Origin square does not equal target. It is origin square, and target is target. Exclusive, unless specified of course.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Page 100: "Melee [number]: The power can be used against a target that is within the specified number of squares of the power's origin square. For example, a melee power that has a range of 1 can normally be used against an adjacent target, whereas a melee power that has a range of 0 can be used only against a target sharing the attacker's space.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Whoa, logic bomb! So they are not creatures, they are not enemies, and they are not allies! OMG, what do we target Fargrim?! We cannot target anything! Origin square, boom, any creatures in burst within its LoE. Simple. Oh your example is not disconnected they are both thoughts of an option(s) that you may so desire. There is Fruit. There is apple and there is orange. Both fruits however dissimilar.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Done many times! Creature=enemy or ally, and you are not <u><em><strong>THE TARGET OF THE INTENDED POWER</strong></em></u>. Unless......</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Apparently, I have to go over this again: Seek previous post concerning subject matter. </p><p></p><p>Now now, what did I say about bursts??? Do not take me out of context!</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Hazzah!</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Booooooo! Incorrect. They have everything to do with the post you made and the rules.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Shikami, post: 5446228, member: 6669047"] Hammer Time I have done so many times. Please, consult previous posts and pages that I commentated. Pages 105-106 Perhaps, not intentionally. But intent and action are two different things. Reading from the Rules Compendium what are you reading? Oh wait, is this Shadowrun? You contradict yourself here. Ask yourself this and look at page 220: What does an area burst 2 do? It targets creatures-if that is the target in the power descriptor and lets say that it is. Creature meaning enemy or ally. I have not claimed I have given examples of the rules, posted the rules, and even given a comprehensive example. As for #3 read my post to Kingreaper. It applies perfectly, and over and over have posted rebuttals to this. However, I have answered every question and not once have I changed anything. Some of you have assumed that I have, but are only being illogical with the defined terms given You are dodging, or you were being ambiguous. Still the language used did not indicate trivial "as in easy." There is a square it has four points in which to draw a line to the intended target for LoEif in question. Only four possibilities to the other square. Honestly, one does not need to be drawn, which was my point, actually, in my example. It is a clear line. You are thinking permutations. Permutation do not apply here. Note, the example on page 107 does not draw 32 lines to see if it has LoE to the goblin. There are 4 lines-starting from each point of the square-it can draw to the goblin all passing through terrain-No line of effect. And note it says from [U][I][B]origin square[/B][/I][/U]. Hammer Time Incorrect and [I]NO [/I]this is not verbatim. "Enemy: means opponent of the power's user." Ally: means companion of the power's user. That is verbatim Wait not Shadowrun, must be Call of Cthulu. So close! What have I been typing in my previous posts? And yes, they are exclusive as they are defined. Origin square does not equal target. It is origin square, and target is target. Exclusive, unless specified of course. Page 100: "Melee [number]: The power can be used against a target that is within the specified number of squares of the power's origin square. For example, a melee power that has a range of 1 can normally be used against an adjacent target, whereas a melee power that has a range of 0 can be used only against a target sharing the attacker's space. Whoa, logic bomb! So they are not creatures, they are not enemies, and they are not allies! OMG, what do we target Fargrim?! We cannot target anything! Origin square, boom, any creatures in burst within its LoE. Simple. Oh your example is not disconnected they are both thoughts of an option(s) that you may so desire. There is Fruit. There is apple and there is orange. Both fruits however dissimilar. Done many times! Creature=enemy or ally, and you are not [U][I][B]THE TARGET OF THE INTENDED POWER[/B][/I][/U]. Unless...... Apparently, I have to go over this again: Seek previous post concerning subject matter. Now now, what did I say about bursts??? Do not take me out of context! Hazzah! Booooooo! Incorrect. They have everything to do with the post you made and the rules. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Does the term "a creature" include yourself?
Top