Dominate Person ?

Sal

First Post
Hi all, I have a question about dominate person. I was under the impression that if you fail the initial save, you may make a save vs a command that is against your nature, but the spell is not broken, and the caster may make another command to 'control' the subject.

Reading the spell it doesn't seem as clear. The player I targeted thinks it may be if the subject (he) makes a save vs the command he is free of the spell.

I think this is the crux of the issue. please let me know how it should be ruled.

Thank you.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Wizard casts Dominate Person on Fighter.
Paladin rolls his Will Save: 24. He saves. The spell fails.
---

Wizard casts Dominate Person on Fighter.
Paladin rolls his Will Save: 4. The spell succeeds.

Wizard orders Paladin to attack shackled, unarmed, priests of his order.
Paladin gains a new saving throw (at a bonus of +2) to resist this order.
If the Paladin wins this saving throw, the spell ends.

---

Wizard casts Dominate Person on Paladin.
Paladin rolls his Will Save: 4. The spell succeeds.

Wizard orders the Paladin to run himself through with his sword OR charge into the gaping maw of a dragon.
Paladin refuses to carry out the order outright, but Wizard retains control of Paladin for future orders.

---

These are the three scenarios that typically occur with Dominate.

The line you were looking for can be found here:

SRD said:
You can control the actions of any humanoid creature through a telepathic link that you establish with the subject’s mind.

If you and the subject have a common language, you can generally force the subject to perform as you desire, within the limits of its abilities. If no common language exists, you can communicate only basic commands, such as “Come here,” “Go there,” “Fight,” and “Stand still.” You know what the subject is experiencing, but you do not receive direct sensory input from it, nor can it communicate with you telepathically.

Once you have given a dominated creature a command, it continues to attempt to carry out that command to the exclusion of all other activities except those necessary for day-to-day survival (such as sleeping, eating, and so forth). Because of this limited range of activity, a Sense Motive check against DC 15 (rather than DC 25) can determine that the subject’s behavior is being influenced by an enchantment effect (see the Sense Motive skill description).

Changing your instructions or giving a dominated creature a new command is the equivalent of redirecting a spell, so it is a move action.

By concentrating fully on the spell (a standard action), you can receive full sensory input as interpreted by the mind of the subject, though it still can’t communicate with you. You can’t actually see through the subject’s eyes, so it’s not as good as being there yourself, but you still get a good idea of what’s going on.

Subjects resist this control, and any subject forced to take actions against its nature receives a new saving throw with a +2 bonus. Obviously self-destructive orders are not carried out. Once control is established, the range at which it can be exercised is unlimited, as long as you and the subject are on the same plane. You need not see the subject to control it.

If you don’t spend at least 1 round concentrating on the spell each day, the subject receives a new saving throw to throw off the domination.

Protection from evil or a similar spell can prevent you from exercising control or using the telepathic link while the subject is so warded, but such an effect neither prevents the establishment of domination nor dispels it.

Important bits in bold.
 

thank you, so if the caster gives an order against the nature of subject will end spell if he saves.

thank you.

Sal
 

Remove ads

Top