Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Double Weapons
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Hypersmurf" data-source="post: 1047369" data-attributes="member: 1656"><p>Yes, it does.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No, they don't.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No, it isn't.</p><p></p><p>It's phrased more explicitly in 3.0, because of some of the assumptions the 3.0 PHB makes about the default size of weapons. Those assumptions are not valid in 3.5 any more, so you need to look at the rules in several places.</p><p></p><p>I'll show you.</p><p></p><p><strong>Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons</strong>: This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon’s size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon.</p><p><em>Two-Handed</em>: <span style="color: yellow">Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively.</span> Apply 1-1/2 times the character’s Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with such a weapon. </p><p></p><p><em>Inappropriately Sized Weapons</em>: A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn’t proficient with the weapon a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.</p><p><span style="color: yellow">The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder’s size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed.</span> If a weapon’s designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can’t wield the weapon at all.</p><p></p><p><em><span style="color: yellow">Two-Handed Melee Weapons</span></em></p><p>Quarterstaff5</p><p>Axe, orc double5</p><p>Flail, dire5</p><p>Hammer, gnome hooked5</p><p>Sword, two-bladed5</p><p>Urgrosh, dwarven5</p><p></p><p>5 Double weapon</p><p></p><p><strong>Quarterstaff</strong>: A quarterstaff is a double weapon. You can fight with it as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. <span style="color: yellow">A creature wielding a quarterstaff in one hand</span> can’t use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.</p><p></p><p>-------</p><p></p><p>So. A quarterstaff is a two-handed weapon. A two-handed weapon requires two hands to wield effectively - it cannot be used in one hand. A creature one size larger treats a quarterstaff as a one-handed weapon - it can be used in one hand, but with a -2 penalty. A creature wielding a quarterstaff in one hand can't use it as a double weapon.</p><p></p><p><em>By the 3.5 rules</em>, a Medium creature <em>cannot</em> wield a Medium quarterstaff in one hand. It is a two-handed weapon. It says so in the table. There's nothing in the weapon description to override that.</p><p></p><p>A Large creature <em>can</em> wield it in one hand. If he does, he cannot use it as a double weapon. <em>That's</em> what the line in the weapon description means.</p><p></p><p>It's there to prevent a first level character using a Small quarterstaff in each hand and using both as a double weapon to get four attacks a round. It's not there to say that a human can use a Medium quarterstaff in one hand.</p><p></p><p>The rules contradict your assumption. They do not support your position. A Sage response is not required.</p><p></p><p>-Hyp.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Hypersmurf, post: 1047369, member: 1656"] Yes, it does. No, they don't. No, it isn't. It's phrased more explicitly in 3.0, because of some of the assumptions the 3.0 PHB makes about the default size of weapons. Those assumptions are not valid in 3.5 any more, so you need to look at the rules in several places. I'll show you. [b]Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons[/b]: This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon’s size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon. [i]Two-Handed[/i]: [color=yellow]Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively.[/color] Apply 1-1/2 times the character’s Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with such a weapon. [i]Inappropriately Sized Weapons[/i]: A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn’t proficient with the weapon a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies. [color=yellow]The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder’s size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed.[/color] If a weapon’s designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can’t wield the weapon at all. [i][color=yellow]Two-Handed Melee Weapons[/color][/i] Quarterstaff5 Axe, orc double5 Flail, dire5 Hammer, gnome hooked5 Sword, two-bladed5 Urgrosh, dwarven5 5 Double weapon [b]Quarterstaff[/b]: A quarterstaff is a double weapon. You can fight with it as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. [color=yellow]A creature wielding a quarterstaff in one hand[/color] can’t use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. ------- So. A quarterstaff is a two-handed weapon. A two-handed weapon requires two hands to wield effectively - it cannot be used in one hand. A creature one size larger treats a quarterstaff as a one-handed weapon - it can be used in one hand, but with a -2 penalty. A creature wielding a quarterstaff in one hand can't use it as a double weapon. [i]By the 3.5 rules[/i], a Medium creature [i]cannot[/i] wield a Medium quarterstaff in one hand. It is a two-handed weapon. It says so in the table. There's nothing in the weapon description to override that. A Large creature [i]can[/i] wield it in one hand. If he does, he cannot use it as a double weapon. [i]That's[/i] what the line in the weapon description means. It's there to prevent a first level character using a Small quarterstaff in each hand and using both as a double weapon to get four attacks a round. It's not there to say that a human can use a Medium quarterstaff in one hand. The rules contradict your assumption. They do not support your position. A Sage response is not required. -Hyp. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Double Weapons
Top