Dragon PC confusion

Awakened

First Post
I'm starting a Shackled City campaign and one of my players is going to be playing a Copper Dragon under the savage species inspired rules in Dragon magazine. What we're wondering is, can Dragons carry any sort of pack to hold their belongings and are barding rules applicable to dragons?
Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes to both questions. Dragon magazine 308 includes an article with some dragon specific equipment. Dragons can carry things in a specially crafted item called a dragon harness; it's designed to fit a dragon's physique and is usually worn slung on its hips. It sports numerous loops, pouches, clips and hooks, allowing the dragon to carry items much as a backpack does for a humanoid. For a 1st level copper dragon of tiny size, the harness costs 1 gp and weighs 2 lbs, a small sized dragon wears a bigger harness costing 4 gp and weighing 5 lbs, a medium sized dragon's costs 8 gp and weighs 10 lbs, etc.

For armor, dragons aren't proficient with any type of armor so they'll suffer the usual non-proficiency penalties if they do wear a set (stick to the lighter varieties to avoid the penalties altogether). They can't wear armor crafted for humanoids but can wear a set of armor designed for a quadraped such as barding. Use the 'Armor for Unusual Creatures' sidebar on page 123 of the Player's Handbook for the modified cost and weight.

Hope that helps. I myself play a gold dragon wyrmling. :)
 


My pleasure. Welcome your friend to the club for me. I'd be curious to hear more about his experiences as the campaign progresses. :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top