Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Entering a Zone
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="jorwland" data-source="post: 4802730" data-attributes="member: 81259"><p>I tend to go back to the fundmental mechanic when faced with dilemma's like these. Specific Beats General is a fundamental. However, in the absence of a specific, you MUST rely on general.</p><p></p><p>In general, A creature/character performs all actions on its turn. There are specific ways to trump this (immediate interrupt, e.g.). </p><p></p><p>So, for example, a wizard creates a zone on his turn in an area including a creature. The zone now "exists" on the wizards turn. The text SPECIFIES damage on entering into or starting a turn in the zone. Therefore, the creature that has not moved, and whose turn it is NOT takes no damage since it did not enter the zone (the creature would have had to act or forced into action - in another words, an action must be spent by somebody to cause the creature to act. Passively standing there while a zone moves or is created over you is not an action by the creature or forced onto the creature. The zone "acted", not the creature.). The wizard then spends an Action Point and Thunderwaves another creature into the zone. The specific rule specifies entering a zone, so the creature takes damage. </p><p></p><p>Next round its the creatures turn. there are 2 in the zone, both take damage, then move out. Another creature charges the wizard, but enters the zone on its way. It also takes damage. </p><p></p><p>Note how the bulk of the damage dealt is happening on the creatures turn...this is the General rule in action. The one pushed creature got an extra dose of damage on the wizards turn. This is the example of the specific beating the general rule on action management. Forced movement is still movement. </p><p></p><p>If you need fluff to explain while the guy standing there took "one" hit on his turn, while the forced guy took "two" hits, remember that a full round is the "thing" while the initiative order is a game device we use to organize and manage it. The creature standing there sees the zone start to form and high tails it out of there, catching <em>some</em> damage as it formed around him as he left. The guy who was pushed into it felt the damage as it formed as he was pushed into it, <em>and</em> took damage when he regained control and moved out. All of that happened in a "round" and it all happened in real time, not in discrete initiative order.</p><p></p><p>As for the zig-zag and the save. I don't agree with the save unless the power specifies it is terrain that triggers a save. However, I also don't agree with multiple damage from a zig-zag. A single action caused the "entering" to occur. Zig-zagging doesn't cause you to enter multiple times on that action. You arte considered "entered" for that action. However, that said, If I pushed a creature in, another character pulled him out and a third character pushed him back in, etc. then I would consider it multiple entries. </p><p></p><p>my 2cp</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="jorwland, post: 4802730, member: 81259"] I tend to go back to the fundmental mechanic when faced with dilemma's like these. Specific Beats General is a fundamental. However, in the absence of a specific, you MUST rely on general. In general, A creature/character performs all actions on its turn. There are specific ways to trump this (immediate interrupt, e.g.). So, for example, a wizard creates a zone on his turn in an area including a creature. The zone now "exists" on the wizards turn. The text SPECIFIES damage on entering into or starting a turn in the zone. Therefore, the creature that has not moved, and whose turn it is NOT takes no damage since it did not enter the zone (the creature would have had to act or forced into action - in another words, an action must be spent by somebody to cause the creature to act. Passively standing there while a zone moves or is created over you is not an action by the creature or forced onto the creature. The zone "acted", not the creature.). The wizard then spends an Action Point and Thunderwaves another creature into the zone. The specific rule specifies entering a zone, so the creature takes damage. Next round its the creatures turn. there are 2 in the zone, both take damage, then move out. Another creature charges the wizard, but enters the zone on its way. It also takes damage. Note how the bulk of the damage dealt is happening on the creatures turn...this is the General rule in action. The one pushed creature got an extra dose of damage on the wizards turn. This is the example of the specific beating the general rule on action management. Forced movement is still movement. If you need fluff to explain while the guy standing there took "one" hit on his turn, while the forced guy took "two" hits, remember that a full round is the "thing" while the initiative order is a game device we use to organize and manage it. The creature standing there sees the zone start to form and high tails it out of there, catching [I]some[/I] damage as it formed around him as he left. The guy who was pushed into it felt the damage as it formed as he was pushed into it, [I]and[/I] took damage when he regained control and moved out. All of that happened in a "round" and it all happened in real time, not in discrete initiative order. As for the zig-zag and the save. I don't agree with the save unless the power specifies it is terrain that triggers a save. However, I also don't agree with multiple damage from a zig-zag. A single action caused the "entering" to occur. Zig-zagging doesn't cause you to enter multiple times on that action. You arte considered "entered" for that action. However, that said, If I pushed a creature in, another character pulled him out and a third character pushed him back in, etc. then I would consider it multiple entries. my 2cp [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Entering a Zone
Top