Explain Antimagic Field?

Aluvial

Explorer
I have a few questions about the spell Antimagic Field.

Where do you put the point of origin? If it is the character himself and you are playing with miniatures on a grid, how many squares does the spell effect?

What if the Antimagic Field is covering a side of a creature that takes up more than 5' square? Do the magical spells that are on the creature still work or are they negated?

Does the spell effect a Druid's Wild Shape?

Does the spell effect the special qualities a creature has, such as Blindsight, Damage Reduction, Scent, or Tremorsense?

Does the spell effect Extraordinary (Ex) effects?

If a creature is completly effected by the spell, does another creature who is attacking the affected creature lose magical bonus to hit from a magical weapon?

Any other wierd crap concerning this spell you wish to enlighten me on?

Thanks, Aluvial
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The point of origin for a personal emanation is at one of the grid intesections which a character occupies. This has the unfortunate result of requiring facing (which was supposed to be eliminated in 3.5) for small, medium, huge, and collosal creatures since the emanation will not be centered upon them, leading to an assymetry. The spell effects two squares in each direction from its grid intersection. This means it will only cover a portion of huge and larger creatures.

What if the Antimagic Field is covering a side of a creature that takes up more than 5' square? Do the magical spells that are on the creature still work or are they negated?
That is a good question. Furthermore, what if the AMF only effects a portion of the creature you are fighting? It would be a lot nicer if they had made it an all or nothing effect -- if any of the squares you occupy are effected by AMF then you are affected.

Does the spell effect a Druid's Wild Shape?

Does the spell effect the special qualities a creature has, such as Blindsight, Damage Reduction, Scent, or Tremorsense?

Does the spell effect Extraordinary (Ex) effects?
AMF supresses Su abilities; therefore Wildshape is supressed. AMF does NOT affect Ex abilities. Special qualities can be Ex or Su, you need to look up each one to determine if AMF will affect it. DR is a little tricky since it can be Ex or Su and is rarely specified. Most say alignment based DR is Su and material based DR is Ex, but that is not official.
 

thorian said:
AMF supresses Su abilities; therefore Wildshape is supressed. AMF does NOT affect Ex abilities. Special qualities can be Ex or Su, you need to look up each one to determine if AMF will affect it. DR is a little tricky since it can be Ex or Su and is rarely specified. Most say alignment based DR is Su and material based DR is Ex, but that is not official.
Where do you find this? In the DMG, or SRD?

I need to find a ruling on DR, I think I'll write Skip......

Aluvial
 

Where do you find this? In the DMG, or SRD?
The spell description in the PHB states that AMF supresses Su abilities; it does not mention Ex abilities, so they are excluded. The wildshape is defined as Su under the wildshape description in the Druid class section in the PHB. DR is mentioned as both Su and Ex in the Monster Manual (pg. 307) and most of the special qualities are defined in that section of the MM as well. The part I mentioned about emanations is in the PHB (pg. 175) under the Aiming a Spell heading and the Area subheading.
 
Last edited:

thorian said:
Furthermore, what if the AMF only effects a portion of the creature you are fighting? It would be a lot nicer if they had made it an all or nothing effect -- if any of the squares you occupy are effected by AMF then you are affected.

From the SRD:

Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.
 

Zodar said:
From the SRD:

Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.
Does that mean that any spells on the creature work for the portion that is out? OR does it mean that the spells partially work? OR does that mean that they don't work at all.

Seems to me that a Large creature (generally w/ reach)(who can face any direction) isn't really effected unless he is attacking the caster of the spell.

Aluvial
 

Remove ads

Top