Extra Spell

Bat

First Post
I took the Extra Spell feat, which states that I can learn an extra spell, provided it is one less level than my maximum spell level. I am playing a WarMage, which is an arcane caster. I took Cure Serious Wounds as my extra spell, and my DM and I are not sure if that is allowed. I say it is, since the feat does not specifically say that it has to be an arcane spell. He says he thinks it has to be an arcane spell. Who is right?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The trick is that some feats allow you to add a spell to your class spell list (c.f. Arcane Disciple) - I believe War Mages get this ability for a limited number of spells as well.

The Extra Spell feat does not actually contain this rules language, effectively limiting it to giving you an additional spell from your class's spell list. As such, it's really intended to benefit classes like Sorceror and Bard, who have a much larger spell list than they are allowed to know at any one time.

War Mages, I believe, already know all the spells present on their class spell list, and so the feat is actually useless for them.

However, talk to your DM - he might allow you to do it anyway, with the understanding that if he doesn't like the way it's working out, you'll go back to the "real" rules on it.
 

Bat said:
He says he thinks it has to be an arcane spell. Who is right?
The DM would be right. :)
As Patryn of Elvenshae states, the feat is written ambigiously, and it's dm judgement whether it adds a spell to your class list or to your spells known.

Personally, I think the intent was to add spells to your spells known list, so it wouldn't help a divine caster or warmage. It would be little benefit to a wizard (as some gold could probably do the same) and mostly intended for sorcerers and bards. All that said, I think a sorcerer or wizard chosing a cure spell is a really bad choice so I would let them anyway.
 

While I agree with both Patryn and TheGogmagog, the "other side" of the argument has some valid points (i.e., that you *can* take spells not on your class list).

Until there is errata from WotC to clarify it, the decision is up to your DM. If s/he says no, then no. IN which case, you may want to ask to choose another feat, since this one is indeed useless to a Warmage.

Note also that your DM *might* be amenable to creating a house-rule feat that allows an extra spell from the "Advanced Learning" ability. "Extra Advanced Learning" is probably a very reasonable compromise.
 

Remove ads

Top