Extradimensional Spaces?

Do the dimensional anchor and dimensional lock spells prevent bags of holding or portable holes from functioning? The items create an extradimensional space, but you can't actually "get away" so to speak. If the items don't function, what happens? Do they automatically empty? Are they inaccessible?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ogrork the Mighty said:
Do the dimensional anchor and dimensional lock spells prevent bags of holding or portable holes from functioning? The items create an extradimensional space, but you can't actually "get away" so to speak. If the items don't function, what happens? Do they automatically empty? Are they inaccessible?

By looking at the spells, Dimensional Anchor seems to be relatively specific in what it blocks (it lists several spells), yet the list doesn't seem to be exclusive. However, it seems to block Extradimensional travel- whether or not this includes Bags of Holding isn't quite expressly stated, though I think it would be reasonable to assume that somehow or another it gets around it (for simplicity's sake).

After all, Bags of Holding don't really fit under any of the spells listed as being blocked, but like I said, it's not an exclusive list, so some DMs may rule that they don't work.
 

I would rule that while under the effects of a dimensional anchor spell, one could neither put items into, nor take them out of, a bag of holding, since by doing so, one is moving that item to an extradimensional space.
 

While this is not fully covered by the rules: rope tricks, portable holes, bags of holding etc. are considered alternate (demi) planes for most purposes. That said, if you were to put say, forbiddance around someone in a rope trick, they should not cease to exist (or somesuch) when the rope trick expires. Similarly, forbiddance should not make everything in your handy haversack inaccessable.

When this was discussed before, the best conclusion appeared to be:
1) You can use travelling spells to travel away from a non-dimensional space, but never to one (supported by the 3.5 FAQ)
2) Items and creatures can leave a non-dimensional space through the normal means, even if prevented from planar travel.
3) Items and creatures cannot enter a non-dimensional space while prevented from planar travel.
 

Remove ads

Top