Flaming Sphere area of effect

Conaill

First Post
Simply put... how many squares does a Flaming Sphere occupy? It's a 3' radius sphere, which I had always interpreted as meaning that you could only attack one single square. However, some of my fellow players seemed to be of the opinion that you could center the point of origin on a corner and affect four squares with it. Which is it?

Are there any guidelines regarding exactly which squares are included in a circular area of effect? Note that with the FS centered on a corner, the 3' radius would not include the center of the surrounding squares. Although if you used that as your criterion, you could aim the FS in between two squares, and have it cover the centers of both.

(And yes, I do know that 3.5 will clarify areas of effect. )
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Flaming Sphere
Evocation [Fire]
Level: Drd 2, Sor/Wiz 2
Components: V, S, M/DF
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect: 3-ft.-radius sphere
Duration: 1 round/level
Saving Throw: Reflex negates (see text)
Spell Resistance: Yes

A burning globe of fire rolls in whichever direction the character points and burns those it strikes. It moves 30 feet per round and can leap up to 30 feet to strike a target. If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round and deals 2d6 points of fire damage to that creature. (The subject can negate this damage with a successful Reflex save.) The flaming sphere rolls over barriers less than 4 feet tall. The sphere ignites flammable substances it touches and illuminates the same area as a torch.

The sphere moves as long as the character actively directs it (a move-equivalent action for the character); otherwise, it merely stays at rest and burns. It can be extinguished by any means that would put out a normal fire of its size. The surface of the sphere has a spongy, yielding consistency and so does not cause damage except by its flame. It cannot push aside unwilling creatures or batter down large obstacles. The sphere winks out if it exceeds the spell’s range.
 
Last edited:


Also, by the wording of the spell (although people contest the interpretation), unless the caster uses a MEA to cause it to move into someone's square, it deals no damage in a given round.

If it just sits burning in the same square it was in last round - even if its target from last round is still there - no damage.

-Hyp.
 

Well, Hyper and I have already gone around on this one; but I disagree that the wording says it requires an MEA to do damage.

If you leave it there, and the idiot doesn't move, he will still take damage.

.
 


I think Hypersmurf's position that FS doesn't deal damage unless the caster moves it is a very literal interpretation of the spell. Definitely not the common-sense interpretation though, and not the way I've seen it used in all the groups and DMs I've seen...
 

I think Hypersmurf's position that FS doesn't deal damage unless the caster moves it is a very literal interpretation of the spell. Definitely not the common-sense interpretation though...

It's not common sense, it's magic...

-Hyp.
 

Conaill said:
I think Hypersmurf's position that FS doesn't deal damage unless the caster moves it is a very literal interpretation of the spell. Definitely not the common-sense interpretation though, and not the way I've seen it used in all the groups and DMs I've seen...

I have never played in a game that made the player followed the material component rules. But I am not going to assert that since I have never used the rules as writen they should be interpreted to read the same as my house rule. The spell's mechanics work the way Hypersmurf has explained but these mechainics do not perfectly mesh with people's ascetic sense of how the spell should work. If you want to change how the spell work go ahead and do so, but don't tell me that spell;s mechanics should interpreted using anything other than what they say.

From Flaming Sphere spell description (SRD)
If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round and deals 2d6 points of fire damage to that creature. (The subject can negate this damage with a successful Reflex save.)

This is an if-then sentance which means for something to happen some thing else must happen first. In this case If it (the flaming sphere) enters a space with a creature, it (then [implied]) stops moving for the round and deals 2d6 points of fire damage to that creature. Damage is not talked about in the spell description in any other place. Thus since dealing damage is the result entering not occupying the same space as creature, one can resonable asume that a creature can occupy the same space as the sphere with out taking damage.
 

Remove ads

Top