Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Flat-Footed
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Water Bob" data-source="post: 5628003" data-attributes="member: 92305"><p>This is actually supported by the <strong><span style="color: orange">Official WOTC D&D FAQ</span></strong>, that says...</p><p> </p><p><strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: blue">Can you take a free action and a standard action as part</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></strong></p><p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: blue">of a readied action? For example, suppose I ready an action</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></strong></p><p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: blue">to attack the first monster to come into melee range. A</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></strong></p><p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: blue">monster comes into range, and I take an attack—can I also</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></strong></p><p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: blue">shout, cast a quickened spell, or use some other free action?</span></span></p><p></span></span></span></span></strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><p style="text-align: left"> </p></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">Using a strict reading of the ready rules (on page 160 of the</span></span></p><p></span></span><em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">PH</span></span></p><p></span></span></em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><p style="text-align: left"></p><p></span><p style="text-align: left"></p><p></span><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">), the answer is no. While the ready action allows you to</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">combine a 5-foot step as part of the readied action, it doesn’t</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">say anything about allowing free actions.</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">Furthermore, the first sentence of the second paragraph</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">under the Ready heading (“You can ready a standard action, a</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">move action, or a free action.”) seems to support this, as it</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">clearly sets up a free action as one of the three options, rather</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">than including it as an addition to be included along with either</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">of the other two options.</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">Since speaking is generally defined as a free action you can</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">perform “even when it isn’t your turn” (see the </span></span></span></span><em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">PH </span></span></span></span></em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">144), you</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">don’t need to combine a shout with the readied action. You can</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">simply perform it any time you want, including right before or</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">after taking a readied action. The same is true of any spell (or</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">action) that you can cast (or perform) when it isn’t your turn,</span></span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">such as </span></span></span></span><em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">feather fall, </span></span></span></span></em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">or any spell whose casting time is 1</span></span></span></span></p><p><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></p><p><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">immediate action. (The immediate action is defined in several</span></span></span></span></p><p><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">recent rulebooks, including the </span></span></span></span><em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">XPH </span></span></span></span></em><span style="color: teal"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">and </span></span><em><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">CAr</span></span></em></span></span><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">. It is reprinted</span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">here for your reference.) You couldn’t cast a quickened spell,</span></span></p></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">though, since that can’t be done when it isn’t your turn.</span></span></p></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></p><p></span></span><strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">Immediate Action</span></span></p><p></span></span></strong><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">even if it is not your turn. Using an immediate action on your</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">turn is the same as using a swift action, and counts as your</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">(effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is</span></span></p></span></span></span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You</span></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 15px"><span style="color: teal">also cannot use an immediate action if you are currently flatfooted.</span></span></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"></span></span></span></span></p><p><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 9px"></span></span></span></span> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p>No one is ever flat-footed. </p><p> </p><p>Yeah...I don't think that's correct. Othwise, the flat-footed concept would not be in the game.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Water Bob, post: 5628003, member: 92305"] This is actually supported by the [B][COLOR=orange]Official WOTC D&D FAQ[/COLOR][/B], that says... [B][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=1][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=1][LEFT][SIZE=4][COLOR=blue]Can you take a free action and a standard action as part[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=blue]of a readied action? For example, suppose I ready an action[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=blue]to attack the first monster to come into melee range. A[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=blue]monster comes into range, and I take an attack—can I also[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=blue]shout, cast a quickened spell, or use some other free action?[/COLOR][/SIZE][/LEFT] [/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=1][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=1][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][LEFT][SIZE=4][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]Using a strict reading of the ready rules (on page 160 of the[/COLOR][/SIZE][/LEFT] [/FONT][/FONT][I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][LEFT][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]PH[/COLOR][/SIZE][/LEFT][/FONT][/FONT][/I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][LEFT][/left][/FONT][LEFT][/left][/FONT][LEFT][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]), the answer is no. While the ready action allows you to[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]combine a 5-foot step as part of the readied action, it doesn’t[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]say anything about allowing free actions.[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=#008080][/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]Furthermore, the first sentence of the second paragraph[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]under the Ready heading (“You can ready a standard action, a[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]move action, or a free action.”) seems to support this, as it[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]clearly sets up a free action as one of the three options, rather[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]than including it as an addition to be included along with either[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]of the other two options.[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal][/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]Since speaking is generally defined as a free action you can[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]perform “even when it isn’t your turn” (see the [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]PH [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]144), you[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]don’t need to combine a shout with the readied action. You can[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]simply perform it any time you want, including right before or[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]after taking a readied action. The same is true of any spell (or[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]action) that you can cast (or perform) when it isn’t your turn,[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]such as [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]feather fall, [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]or any spell whose casting time is 1[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/LEFT][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]immediate action. (The immediate action is defined in several[/COLOR][/SIZE] [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]recent rulebooks, including the [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]XPH [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][COLOR=teal][SIZE=4][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman]and [/FONT][/FONT][I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman]CAr[/FONT][/FONT][/I][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]. It is reprinted[/COLOR][/SIZE] [LEFT][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]here for your reference.) You couldn’t cast a quickened spell,[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]though, since that can’t be done when it isn’t your turn.[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=#008080][/COLOR][/SIZE] [/LEFT] [/FONT][/FONT][B][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][LEFT][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]Immediate Action[/COLOR][/SIZE][/LEFT] [/FONT][/FONT][/B][FONT=Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=1][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=1][LEFT][SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]even if it is not your turn. Using an immediate action on your[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]turn is the same as using a swift action, and counts as your[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal](effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is[/COLOR][/SIZE] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You[/COLOR][/SIZE][/LEFT] [SIZE=4][COLOR=teal]also cannot use an immediate action if you are currently flatfooted.[/COLOR][/SIZE] [/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT] No one is ever flat-footed. Yeah...I don't think that's correct. Othwise, the flat-footed concept would not be in the game. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Flat-Footed
Top