Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Flat-Footed
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Water Bob" data-source="post: 5628233" data-attributes="member: 92305"><p>I thought the same thing and researched it. You can find the thread in this forum.</p><p> </p><p>I thought that "Readying" an action was a standard action, and that you could also ready a different standard action.</p><p> </p><p>So, I incorrectly thought a character would take two standard actions in a round. The 1st would be him readying the action. The second would be whatever action he readied.</p><p> </p><p>As it turns out, that is not correct.</p><p> </p><p>A character can only take one Standard Action per round. He can take a standard action + a move action. He can take two move actions. Or, he can take a full round action.</p><p> </p><p>He cannot take two standard actions.</p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p>The Ready Action basically allows you to take your one Standard Action later in the round. You take the action when it is triggered. The trigger is whatever you describe.</p><p> </p><p>So, this is a legal Ready Action:</p><p> </p><p>Thrallan walks up to the top of the bluff to look out over the plain, then he readies his spear, throwing it at the first enemy he sees.</p><p> </p><p>Moving up to the plain his his Move action. His Standard Action is the throwing of the spear, but he won't do that until he sees an enemy.</p><p> </p><p>As soon as he sees an enemy, he'll throw his spear at that target before the enemy gets to take his actions for the round.</p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p>Here's another legal Ready Action:</p><p> </p><p>Silaigne looks out over the battlefield from his position on the rock. When the ranks of the enemy pass the edge of the forrest, he'll give the command for the archers to commence a cloud of arrows over them.</p><p> </p><p>Silaigne first uses his standard action for the Spot Check, and he's readying a free action--his command for the archer to fire. The command is triggered by the bad guys passing the edge of the forrest.</p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p>Here's one more legal Ready Action:</p><p> </p><p>The PC party is in full retreat beind chased by a family of trolls. Arttigne decides to cover his fellows escape. He swings around to face the oncoming trolls with his sword eager to taste their green blood.</p><p> </p><p>Arttigne uses his Move action to retreat from the trolls and then turn to face the enemy. He then readies his sword to attack the first troll that enters his threatened area. That's a standard action triggered by the first troll to enter a 5' square around the character.</p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p> </p><p>The D&D FAQ makes it clear that you cannot take a Free Action along with a Readied Action. Thus, Arttigne could not yell to his companions, "I've got the rear! Keep moving!" when he is taking his attack throw at an oncoming troll. But, Arttigne could use a free action and say those very words during his Move action, when he was running behind the other PCs.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Water Bob, post: 5628233, member: 92305"] I thought the same thing and researched it. You can find the thread in this forum. I thought that "Readying" an action was a standard action, and that you could also ready a different standard action. So, I incorrectly thought a character would take two standard actions in a round. The 1st would be him readying the action. The second would be whatever action he readied. As it turns out, that is not correct. A character can only take one Standard Action per round. He can take a standard action + a move action. He can take two move actions. Or, he can take a full round action. He cannot take two standard actions. The Ready Action basically allows you to take your one Standard Action later in the round. You take the action when it is triggered. The trigger is whatever you describe. So, this is a legal Ready Action: Thrallan walks up to the top of the bluff to look out over the plain, then he readies his spear, throwing it at the first enemy he sees. Moving up to the plain his his Move action. His Standard Action is the throwing of the spear, but he won't do that until he sees an enemy. As soon as he sees an enemy, he'll throw his spear at that target before the enemy gets to take his actions for the round. Here's another legal Ready Action: Silaigne looks out over the battlefield from his position on the rock. When the ranks of the enemy pass the edge of the forrest, he'll give the command for the archers to commence a cloud of arrows over them. Silaigne first uses his standard action for the Spot Check, and he's readying a free action--his command for the archer to fire. The command is triggered by the bad guys passing the edge of the forrest. Here's one more legal Ready Action: The PC party is in full retreat beind chased by a family of trolls. Arttigne decides to cover his fellows escape. He swings around to face the oncoming trolls with his sword eager to taste their green blood. Arttigne uses his Move action to retreat from the trolls and then turn to face the enemy. He then readies his sword to attack the first troll that enters his threatened area. That's a standard action triggered by the first troll to enter a 5' square around the character. The D&D FAQ makes it clear that you cannot take a Free Action along with a Readied Action. Thus, Arttigne could not yell to his companions, "I've got the rear! Keep moving!" when he is taking his attack throw at an oncoming troll. But, Arttigne could use a free action and say those very words during his Move action, when he was running behind the other PCs. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Flat-Footed
Top