Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Full Discipline ... what the?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="fba827" data-source="post: 5327123" data-attributes="member: 807"><p>So you need to use up a standard action to use the standard action part, and a move action to use the move action part.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>So you can do the move action part first then the standard action part, or visa-versa.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>So you <em>can</em> use a full technique discipline that gives you a standard and move action choice, but elect to only use the move action, or elect to use the standard action.</p><p></p><p>Basically, the word can is the important word to emphasize. It's saying that just because you use one of those powers, you don't have to use BOTH of its techniques, you <em>can</em> elect to just use one part of the other if you want.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The operative word there is "can" so he can use one part of the technique and not the other one (or he can use both). Basically, it's saying you aren't forced to use <em>Jump A</em> if you just wanted to use <em>Chop A</em> with a regular move action shift 1.</p><p></p><p></p><p>For the sake of example:</p><p>Monk Technique A</p><p>Standard Action Monk Chop A</p><p>Move Action Monk Jump A</p><p></p><p>So on the monk's turn, he chooses Technique A so he can</p><ul> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">Use <em>Chop A</em> and <em>Jump A</em> (in either order)</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">He can <em>Chop A</em> and use any 'normal' move action (in either order)</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">He can <em>Jump A</em> and any 'normal' standard action (in either order)</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">He can trade in his standard action for a second move action in order to<em>Jump A</em> and any 'normal' move action (in either order)</li> </ul><p></p><p>(...plus minor action)</p><p></p><p>He can not:</p><p><em>Jump A</em> <em>Jump A</em> (while he can move action twice by trading in a standard action, the rule doesn't let you use the discipline's move action twice, so he could Jump A and then use some regular move action like a shift 1 or stand from prone or move his speed or something.</p><p></p><p></p><p>that's how i take it anyway....</p><p>(and that's also how they seemed to be using it in the WotC podcast they did in Dark Sun where someone was a thri-kreen monk)</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="fba827, post: 5327123, member: 807"] So you need to use up a standard action to use the standard action part, and a move action to use the move action part. So you can do the move action part first then the standard action part, or visa-versa. So you [I]can[/I] use a full technique discipline that gives you a standard and move action choice, but elect to only use the move action, or elect to use the standard action. Basically, the word can is the important word to emphasize. It's saying that just because you use one of those powers, you don't have to use BOTH of its techniques, you [I]can[/I] elect to just use one part of the other if you want. The operative word there is "can" so he can use one part of the technique and not the other one (or he can use both). Basically, it's saying you aren't forced to use [I]Jump A[/I] if you just wanted to use [I]Chop A[/I] with a regular move action shift 1. For the sake of example: Monk Technique A Standard Action Monk Chop A Move Action Monk Jump A So on the monk's turn, he chooses Technique A so he can [LIST] [*]Use [I]Chop A[/I] and [I]Jump A[/I] (in either order) [*]He can [I]Chop A[/I] and use any 'normal' move action (in either order) [*]He can [I]Jump A[/I] and any 'normal' standard action (in either order) [*]He can trade in his standard action for a second move action in order to[I]Jump A[/I] and any 'normal' move action (in either order) [/LIST] (...plus minor action) He can not: [I]Jump A[/I] [I]Jump A[/I] (while he can move action twice by trading in a standard action, the rule doesn't let you use the discipline's move action twice, so he could Jump A and then use some regular move action like a shift 1 or stand from prone or move his speed or something. that's how i take it anyway.... (and that's also how they seemed to be using it in the WotC podcast they did in Dark Sun where someone was a thri-kreen monk) [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Full Discipline ... what the?
Top