Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Gelatinous Cube Goodness
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Gruns" data-source="post: 4495321" data-attributes="member: 10312"><p>Hey all.</p><p>So my group had a run in with a gelatinous cube today, and many a rules questions sprung into light! Where to start... I guess it's just best to describe the scenario, and you rules expert types can tell me where I screwed up!</p><p></p><p>We had a (W)arlord, (P)aladin and a (R)ogue in a corridor with the [CC]ube. The corridor was actually 10' wide, as was the cube, but for the sake of ASCII art, we'll pretend it was 5'.</p><p></p><p>So here's the tunnel setup: ____(W)____(P)[CC](R)</p><p></p><p>The (P) Divine Challenges the [CC] and attacks. Result irrelevant.</p><p>The [CC] attacks the (P) and hits, (P) is Immobilized. [CC] decides now is a good time to use its Action Point, and Engulfs said (P). Now we have this setup:</p><p>_____(W)_____[PC](R)</p><p></p><p>Now for the stupid questions: Is the [CC] still Divine Challenged? i.e., does "occupying the same square" count as "adjacent" as far as the (P) engaging the [CC] to keep the Divine Challenge going? I ruled No, simply because it seemed absurd. "Bahamut will smite thee, foul ooze! Just as soon as I get out of your plasmatic grasp...!" However, it really depends on whether or not he is considered adjacent, since he was adjacent to at least 3/4 of the [CC].</p><p></p><p>And if "occupying 1 of 4 squares of a Large creature" counts as "adjacent", is the [CC] still Flanked by the (P) and the (R)?!? After looking through every book I had for rules on Engulfed, occupying the same space, etc etc, I couldn't find any RAW that said the (P) COULDN'T help with flanking. I however ruled that no, he wasn't, since the [CC] wasn't trying to dodge him or show him any concern, other than to slowly digest him in acid. *This turned out to be a moot point as the (P) was also Dazed while engulfed, and Dazed people can't flank anyway. Also, PHB 285 suggests that you need to draw a line across oppoisite sides, and technically, you only cross one side, so again, "No".</p><p></p><p>Anyway, the (W) thought it looked like fun, so she ran up and hit the [CC]:</p><p>_________(W)[PC](R)</p><p></p><p>Some (Z)ombies joined the fight, and were throwing gobs of guts at the (W)arlord from behind.</p><p>(Z)(Z)_______(W)[PC](R)</p><p></p><p>Before too long, the [CC] proceeded to Engulf the (W)arlord, too...</p><p>(Z)(Z)__________[WP](R)</p><p></p><p>Now the (Z)'s had to target the (R)ogue. Since they're pals, the [CC] doesn't act as Cover for the (R), but what about the (W) and/or the (P) who are still "in the way", but just happen to be inside an ooze at the moment?? I ruled that, ok, this mess of (W),(P) and [CC] were enough to provide Cover for the (R). It just so happens that this +2 AC then negated what would have been a hit on the already badly injured (R)ogue.</p><p></p><p>All in all, a fun time was had by all as we enjoyed the visuals of what was going on, and mucked our way through it.</p><p></p><p>I have a feeling this post is going to format horribly, and be too hard to follow, so I'm not even going to bother Previewing and trying to fix it. For those that like a challenge, have fun.</p><p></p><p>Later!</p><p>Gruns</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Gruns, post: 4495321, member: 10312"] Hey all. So my group had a run in with a gelatinous cube today, and many a rules questions sprung into light! Where to start... I guess it's just best to describe the scenario, and you rules expert types can tell me where I screwed up! We had a (W)arlord, (P)aladin and a (R)ogue in a corridor with the [CC]ube. The corridor was actually 10' wide, as was the cube, but for the sake of ASCII art, we'll pretend it was 5'. So here's the tunnel setup: ____(W)____(P)[CC](R) The (P) Divine Challenges the [CC] and attacks. Result irrelevant. The [CC] attacks the (P) and hits, (P) is Immobilized. [CC] decides now is a good time to use its Action Point, and Engulfs said (P). Now we have this setup: _____(W)_____[PC](R) Now for the stupid questions: Is the [CC] still Divine Challenged? i.e., does "occupying the same square" count as "adjacent" as far as the (P) engaging the [CC] to keep the Divine Challenge going? I ruled No, simply because it seemed absurd. "Bahamut will smite thee, foul ooze! Just as soon as I get out of your plasmatic grasp...!" However, it really depends on whether or not he is considered adjacent, since he was adjacent to at least 3/4 of the [CC]. And if "occupying 1 of 4 squares of a Large creature" counts as "adjacent", is the [CC] still Flanked by the (P) and the (R)?!? After looking through every book I had for rules on Engulfed, occupying the same space, etc etc, I couldn't find any RAW that said the (P) COULDN'T help with flanking. I however ruled that no, he wasn't, since the [CC] wasn't trying to dodge him or show him any concern, other than to slowly digest him in acid. *This turned out to be a moot point as the (P) was also Dazed while engulfed, and Dazed people can't flank anyway. Also, PHB 285 suggests that you need to draw a line across oppoisite sides, and technically, you only cross one side, so again, "No". Anyway, the (W) thought it looked like fun, so she ran up and hit the [CC]: _________(W)[PC](R) Some (Z)ombies joined the fight, and were throwing gobs of guts at the (W)arlord from behind. (Z)(Z)_______(W)[PC](R) Before too long, the [CC] proceeded to Engulf the (W)arlord, too... (Z)(Z)__________[WP](R) Now the (Z)'s had to target the (R)ogue. Since they're pals, the [CC] doesn't act as Cover for the (R), but what about the (W) and/or the (P) who are still "in the way", but just happen to be inside an ooze at the moment?? I ruled that, ok, this mess of (W),(P) and [CC] were enough to provide Cover for the (R). It just so happens that this +2 AC then negated what would have been a hit on the already badly injured (R)ogue. All in all, a fun time was had by all as we enjoyed the visuals of what was going on, and mucked our way through it. I have a feeling this post is going to format horribly, and be too hard to follow, so I'm not even going to bother Previewing and trying to fix it. For those that like a challenge, have fun. Later! Gruns [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Gelatinous Cube Goodness
Top