Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Getting a Handle on 5E Rules
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="DEFCON 1" data-source="post: 6841655" data-attributes="member: 7006"><p>Yup, WotC decided to catagorize these extra extra single actions you can take on your turn as Bonus Actions to help tell us that they aren't standard, they're a bonus.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Nope... you *can* cast two spells in the turn, provided that the spell cast using your regular Action is only a Cantrip.</p><p></p><p>The Bonus Action spell will be one of your spells using one of your levels 1-9 spell slots that says it requires a Bonus Action to cast. You then can use your regular Action to either Attack with a weapon, do any of the other things that require an Action (like Hide, Dodge, Dash etc.) or cast another spell, but this one HAS to be a Cantrip only. The one thing you <em>aren't</em> allowed to do is cast another regular spell using one of your Levels 1-9 spell slots.</p><p></p><p>So if you cast Healing Word on your turn with your Bonus Action you could then cast Sacred Flame with your Action, but NOT something like Darkness or Protection From Evil or Good.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You usually can mix and match when you do your Action, Move, and Bonus Action... even splitting parts up. So you could on your turn Move half your speed, then perform a Bonus Action, move the remainder of your speed, and then perform your Action. It's up to you. I think there's only a certain couple times where it states within the description of a Bonus Action that it can *only* occur following a certain Action taken first... but those are rare.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No. <em>However</em> you COULD use your Reaction to get a second move, provided you used your Action on your turn to Ready a Dash action. So on your turn you could move somewhere on the battlefield and then use the Ready action to Dash with a trigger of something like "When an enemy gets within 10 feet of me, I back up 30 feet." Then, if/when an enemy gets within 10 feet of you during that round, it triggers your Readied action and you use your Reaction to take that Dash to back up.</p><p></p><p>Of course, by doing this you don't actually get to take an Attack or Cast a Spell or whatnot on your turn... because your Action was to use the Ready action.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="DEFCON 1, post: 6841655, member: 7006"] Yup, WotC decided to catagorize these extra extra single actions you can take on your turn as Bonus Actions to help tell us that they aren't standard, they're a bonus. Nope... you *can* cast two spells in the turn, provided that the spell cast using your regular Action is only a Cantrip. The Bonus Action spell will be one of your spells using one of your levels 1-9 spell slots that says it requires a Bonus Action to cast. You then can use your regular Action to either Attack with a weapon, do any of the other things that require an Action (like Hide, Dodge, Dash etc.) or cast another spell, but this one HAS to be a Cantrip only. The one thing you [i]aren't[/i] allowed to do is cast another regular spell using one of your Levels 1-9 spell slots. So if you cast Healing Word on your turn with your Bonus Action you could then cast Sacred Flame with your Action, but NOT something like Darkness or Protection From Evil or Good. You usually can mix and match when you do your Action, Move, and Bonus Action... even splitting parts up. So you could on your turn Move half your speed, then perform a Bonus Action, move the remainder of your speed, and then perform your Action. It's up to you. I think there's only a certain couple times where it states within the description of a Bonus Action that it can *only* occur following a certain Action taken first... but those are rare. No. [i]However[/i] you COULD use your Reaction to get a second move, provided you used your Action on your turn to Ready a Dash action. So on your turn you could move somewhere on the battlefield and then use the Ready action to Dash with a trigger of something like "When an enemy gets within 10 feet of me, I back up 30 feet." Then, if/when an enemy gets within 10 feet of you during that round, it triggers your Readied action and you use your Reaction to take that Dash to back up. Of course, by doing this you don't actually get to take an Attack or Cast a Spell or whatnot on your turn... because your Action was to use the Ready action. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Getting a Handle on 5E Rules
Top