Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Grabbed question
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="OnlineDM" data-source="post: 5340305" data-attributes="member: 90804"><p>Here's how it works once you're grabbed.</p><p></p><ul> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">On your turn, you may use a <strong>move action</strong> (not a standard action) to try the Escape action (page 243 of the rules compendium). You make your choice of either an Athletics check against the grabber's Fortitude defense, or an Acrobatics check against the grabber's Reflex defense. If the Escape action succeeds, you are no longer grabbed (though if you don't quickly move out of there - maybe trading your standard action for a move action - nothing is stopping the creature from attempting to grab you again on its next turn).</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">In addition, the description of the Grabbed condition on page 231 of the Rules Compendium explains that the grabbed condition ends immediately on the creature if the grabber is subjected to an effect that prevents it from taking <strong>actions, </strong>or if the grabbed creature ends up outside the range of the grabbing power or effect.</li> </ul><p>Two things to note on that second point: First, the Grabbed condition has received errata to make it so the grab only ends if the creature is prevented from taking ALL actions, not just OPPORTUNITY actions (this is a change from how Grabbed originally worked). So Dazing a creature that's grabbing another creature does not cause the grab to end any more (but Stunning it does cause the grab to end).</p><p></p><p>Second, forced movement only matters if the grabbed creature ends up outside the range of the power that did the grabbing. If a Roper has a range of 10 on its grab power, then forced movement would only break the grab if it causes the two creatures to be more than 10 squares apart.</p><p></p><p>Note that lots of grabbing powers have a range of 1 or 2 squares, so pushing the grabber a square or two is enough to break the grab in that case. With a Roper who has you held right up against itself, you'd need 10 squares of forced movement on either you or the Roper in order to have that end the grab. Note that the Roper's initial grab attack doesn't actually move you - if you're 10 squares away when it grabs you, you're still 10 squares away until it reels you in or it moves closer. So if it grabs you and fails to reel you in, it doesn't take much forced movement to break the grab (but Ropers being Ropers, it probably WILL reel you in).</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="OnlineDM, post: 5340305, member: 90804"] Here's how it works once you're grabbed. [LIST] [*]On your turn, you may use a [B]move action[/B] (not a standard action) to try the Escape action (page 243 of the rules compendium). You make your choice of either an Athletics check against the grabber's Fortitude defense, or an Acrobatics check against the grabber's Reflex defense. If the Escape action succeeds, you are no longer grabbed (though if you don't quickly move out of there - maybe trading your standard action for a move action - nothing is stopping the creature from attempting to grab you again on its next turn). [*]In addition, the description of the Grabbed condition on page 231 of the Rules Compendium explains that the grabbed condition ends immediately on the creature if the grabber is subjected to an effect that prevents it from taking [B]actions, [/B]or if the grabbed creature ends up outside the range of the grabbing power or effect. [/LIST] Two things to note on that second point: First, the Grabbed condition has received errata to make it so the grab only ends if the creature is prevented from taking ALL actions, not just OPPORTUNITY actions (this is a change from how Grabbed originally worked). So Dazing a creature that's grabbing another creature does not cause the grab to end any more (but Stunning it does cause the grab to end). Second, forced movement only matters if the grabbed creature ends up outside the range of the power that did the grabbing. If a Roper has a range of 10 on its grab power, then forced movement would only break the grab if it causes the two creatures to be more than 10 squares apart. Note that lots of grabbing powers have a range of 1 or 2 squares, so pushing the grabber a square or two is enough to break the grab in that case. With a Roper who has you held right up against itself, you'd need 10 squares of forced movement on either you or the Roper in order to have that end the grab. Note that the Roper's initial grab attack doesn't actually move you - if you're 10 squares away when it grabs you, you're still 10 squares away until it reels you in or it moves closer. So if it grabs you and fails to reel you in, it doesn't take much forced movement to break the grab (but Ropers being Ropers, it probably WILL reel you in). [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Grabbed question
Top