Grease spell question

shilsen

Adventurer
The description of the Grease spell says the following with reference to casting it on an item:

"The spell can also be used to create a greasy coating on an item. Material objects not in use are always affected by this spell, while an object wielded or employed by a creature receives a Reflex saving throw to avoid the effect. If the initial saving throw fails, the creature immediately drops the item. A saving throw must be made in each round that the creature attempts to pick up or use the greased item."

If I'm interpreting that correctly, the save and effects depend on whether the item is actually in use, not just whether it counts as attended or not. So a sword being wielded in combat would get a Reflex save, but a sheathed sword would not (and would automatically be greased). And if the owner subsequently tried to use the sheathed sword, it would require a saving throw each round to use it. Is that correct?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Crothian said:
Anything on a person is considered employed and always gets a saving throw.

That's how I would normally see it, but in that case, someone with an attended item not in actual use (like the sheathed sword I mentioned) could fail the save and still not immediately drop it (as the spell says the user does). But you're probably correct that the blanket rule you mentioned would apply. Pity - I was thinking of some very nasty possibilities for my poor PCs :D

Camarath said:
You might be intersted in this thread Grease spell question, I believe it deals the question your are asking.

Thanks for the reference, but unless I missed it, nobody on that thread seems to have discussed the question of attended items which are not currently being used.
 

shilsen said:
Thanks for the reference, but unless I missed it, nobody on that thread seems to have discussed the question of attended items which are not currently being used.
After I posted that link I read the thread and then reread your post and you are correct no one deals with the issue you are asking about here, sorry. On the issue at hand, I agree with Crothian attended objects should count as being "wielded" or at least "employed".
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top