hitting invisible creatures

Elf Witch

First Post
I have a question in our game we came up against a creature that had the ability to attack and then go invisible until he attacked again.

One of the players declared that for their action they were holding until the creature attacked and then attacking.

Now the DM ruled that because this was a supernatural ability and that when you hold if your dex is lower than the creature that you are holding for then the creature gets to go first and because he went first the person holding still had the 50 percent mischance due to invisibility.

This just seems wrong to be on so many levels. I would think if you hold your action you would get to go first because at that point you had the higher inintuitive that your inintutive does not drop until the next round.

At that point dex comes into play on who goes first at the same inintuitive.

Also if you are standing there ready to hit I don't see how you still get the mischance.

Am I wrong about this?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Far better:

"I ready my action to attack the creature as soon as it becomes visible."

Forget the "Delay" action completely.
 

As for your question: Initiative is sequential, not simultaneous. If you delay (your term "hold" has no meaning in this context), your init count is moved until right after the turn you've delayed to.

Maybe you meant "ready". Is that right?
 

And finally:
Elf Witch said:
Now the DM ruled that because this was a supernatural ability and that when you hold if your dex is lower than the creature that you are holding for then the creature gets to go first and because he went first the person holding still had the 50 percent mischance due to invisibility.
The DM totally made this up. Completely and absolutely. It's bogus.
 

Nail said:
As for your question: Initiative is sequential, not simultaneous. If you delay (your term "hold" has no meaning in this context), your init count is moved until right after the turn you've delayed to.

Maybe you meant "ready". Is that right?


Yes I meant ready.
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top