Horrid Wilting

gnomebarbarian

First Post
Okay my group and I have allways been a little unsure about the Horrid Wilting spell. It states living creatures, no 2 of which can be more than 60ft apart. The questions we have are...

1st.. Is it only creatures the mage designates as a target that are within 60ft that get hurt, or all creatures within 60 feet of the target like a burst spell effect. Reading the spell it evaporates mositure from the body of each subject living creature... the keyword being subject.

Subject could mean everyone within 60ft of the first affected creature (like a burst centered on a target) or only targets the mage designated within 60ft of each other. Somehow the mage has to designate the point where the spell goes off and it is going to have a 60ft range from that point.

In NWN it seems to be an area affect type spell but NWN is not the best judge off of course, but being everyone in our group plays NWN we tend to use it as a reference of sorts when the rules aren't too clear in the handbooks.

2nd... is there any limit to the number or HD of creatures this could affect. IF it is a burst type effect I would think no limit just like a fireball has no limit to how many people it affects. Overall we think no limit because nothing is mentioned about one at all.

The biggest problem is, can a mage cast this at creatures engaged closely with himself and/or his companions without fear of getting damaged from it.

When comparing it to Hypnotism that also affects several living creatures no more then 2 of which can be only 30ft apart, it seems that the term subject is anyone that can see or hear the caster (and of course within 30ft of each other) Also, hypnotism does specify a HD limit. So does that mean if you cast Hypnotism on some monsters engaed at melee with your fighter buddy PC that all would have to roll saves and possibly be affected?

So far we have been using Horrid wilting as a burst affect spell because it seems to powerful to us otherwise.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Basically treat it as a circle 60 foot diameter that only affects who you want it to.

[edit] No limit on HD

I don't know why you think that is overpowerful. It's basically a non-elemental fireball with a slightly larger radius otherwise. As an 8th level spell, it better do something better than that. Selecting targets is what does it.
 
Last edited:

reanjr said:
Basically treat it as a circle 60 foot diameter that only affects who you want it to.

[edit] No limit on HD

I don't know why you think that is overpowerful. It's basically a non-elemental fireball with a slightly larger radius otherwise. As an 8th level spell, it better do something better than that. Selecting targets is what does it.
This is correct. The key here is that the spell effects a group of targets, hence the "Target" line, rather than creating an Area label or Burst effect (Look at Fireball, there is no Target line, just an "Area: 20-ft radius spread"). Thoe good news is that since it affects targets, it means the caster can pick and choose who to affect. The bad news for the caster is that this means that Horrid Wilting can be affected by Spell Turning.
 


"The abjuration turns only spells that have you as a target"

Note that it says "a target" not "the target." So it still works. Of course, that would just mean the caster gets zonked instead of the one guy with Spell Turning, but all the other original targets still get hit. Give Spell Turning a little credit here; this is one of the few damaging spells it can actual turn in the RAW (thanks to the incredibly silly wording that makes it unable to turn single-target ray spells)
 


Rystil Arden said:
The bad news for the caster is that this means that Horrid Wilting can be affected by Spell Turning.

Another bad news is that you cannot target creatures you can't see / are not aware of.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top