Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
How do you rule using a Hand Crossbow with a nick weapon
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="EzekielRaiden" data-source="post: 9709876" data-attributes="member: 6790260"><p>And I understand it to mean you can only fire it one time during the round, regardless of which action you use. If you use an action, that's your one and only use of that hand crossbow during that round. You <em>could not</em> use it a second time in that round, no matter what action (regular, Bonus, or Reaction) you attempt.</p><p></p><p>Worth noting, way back when, Crawford had previously clarified (in 5.0) that you did in fact <em>need</em> the Crossbow Expert feat in order to fire the same light crossbow once with an action, and then separately later with a Bonus Action. It's not the same edition, so it is possible they changed their minds on this...but it would be unusual for them to suddenly flip to a massively more favorable interpretation. Especially because the wording of the 5.5e "Loading" property is identical in all rule-related aspects, it simply deletes the fluffy lead-in text. It begins (italicized text deleted in 5.5e): "<em>Because of the time required to load this weapon</em>, you can fire only one piece..." Everything from "[Y]ou can fire..." onward is identical.</p><p></p><p>Edit: And, in fact, that tweet answer was actually added to the official Sage Advice compendium. So it doesn't even have the stigma of "Crawford tweets aren't ~~canon~~ official". It really was the official rule back in 5.0.:</p><p></p><p style="margin-left: 20px"><strong>Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and</strong></p> <p style="margin-left: 20px"><strong>then fire it again as a bonus action?</strong> It does! Take a look</p> <p style="margin-left: 20px">at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand</p> <p style="margin-left: 20px">crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action</p> <p style="margin-left: 20px">to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is</p> <p style="margin-left: 20px">a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both</p> <p style="margin-left: 20px">attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand</p> <p style="margin-left: 20px">crossbow between the two attacks.</p><p></p><p>You needed to have Crossbow Expert to even be <em>capable</em> of firing a hand crossbow through two different types of actions. That seems to still be true in 5.5e; none of the relevant wording has changed.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Consider: you take the Attack action. Done. Then, after that, your hypothetical...call it "Quickdraw Artist" feature, which allows you to make a single ranged weapon attack roll at any time once before the end of your turn, if you have at any point during your turn already made a ranged weapon attack. "Quickdraw Artist" explicitly <em>does not</em> require an action, Bonus Action, nor Reaction. It simply happens.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="EzekielRaiden, post: 9709876, member: 6790260"] And I understand it to mean you can only fire it one time during the round, regardless of which action you use. If you use an action, that's your one and only use of that hand crossbow during that round. You [I]could not[/I] use it a second time in that round, no matter what action (regular, Bonus, or Reaction) you attempt. Worth noting, way back when, Crawford had previously clarified (in 5.0) that you did in fact [I]need[/I] the Crossbow Expert feat in order to fire the same light crossbow once with an action, and then separately later with a Bonus Action. It's not the same edition, so it is possible they changed their minds on this...but it would be unusual for them to suddenly flip to a massively more favorable interpretation. Especially because the wording of the 5.5e "Loading" property is identical in all rule-related aspects, it simply deletes the fluffy lead-in text. It begins (italicized text deleted in 5.5e): "[I]Because of the time required to load this weapon[/I], you can fire only one piece..." Everything from "[Y]ou can fire..." onward is identical. Edit: And, in fact, that tweet answer was actually added to the official Sage Advice compendium. So it doesn't even have the stigma of "Crawford tweets aren't ~~canon~~ official". It really was the official rule back in 5.0.: [INDENT][B]Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and[/B][/INDENT] [INDENT][B]then fire it again as a bonus action?[/B] It does! Take a look[/INDENT] [INDENT]at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand[/INDENT] [INDENT]crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action[/INDENT] [INDENT]to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is[/INDENT] [INDENT]a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both[/INDENT] [INDENT]attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand[/INDENT] [INDENT]crossbow between the two attacks.[/INDENT] You needed to have Crossbow Expert to even be [I]capable[/I] of firing a hand crossbow through two different types of actions. That seems to still be true in 5.5e; none of the relevant wording has changed. Consider: you take the Attack action. Done. Then, after that, your hypothetical...call it "Quickdraw Artist" feature, which allows you to make a single ranged weapon attack roll at any time once before the end of your turn, if you have at any point during your turn already made a ranged weapon attack. "Quickdraw Artist" explicitly [I]does not[/I] require an action, Bonus Action, nor Reaction. It simply happens. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
How do you rule using a Hand Crossbow with a nick weapon
Top