Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
NOW LIVE! Today's the day you meet your new best friend. You don’t have to leave Wolfy behind... In 'Pets & Sidekicks' your companions level up with you!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
How do you rule using a Hand Crossbow with a nick weapon
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Snarf Zagyg" data-source="post: 9710304" data-attributes="member: 7023840"><p>So here's the thing- not to add complication to what you're claiming, but look at what the Sage Advice compendium is actually saying- it's not exactly what you are saying.</p><p></p><h3><em>Can I make an attack with a Light weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to make the extra attack of the Light property?</em></h3><p><em>Yes. The only requirement for the <a href="https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/equipment#Light" target="_blank">Light</a> property’s extra attack is that it’s made with a different Light weapon.</em></p><p></p><p>The question itself is limited. Technically, all that it is asking is:</p><p>If I have a weapon in one hand that is light, and attack with it, can I then draw a second weapon (that is light) with my other hand and attack with it?</p><p></p><p>That's actually already easy to answer.</p><p></p><p>Attack action gives you one (ONE!) free equip/unequip. Attack action is attack with light weapon. Free equip of second light weapon in the other hand. That triggers (condition) bonus action. That's all good!</p><p></p><p></p><p>What that doesn't address is a lot of other issues- as I alluded to previously, a lot of confusion comes up in the "free object interaction" (you get to interact with one object that is part of the environment for free).</p><p></p><p>Now here is where I stand, and I am sure you will disagree.</p><p></p><p><em>Utilize [Action]</em></p><p>You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of the Attack action. When an object requires an action for its use, you take the Utilize action.</p><p></p><p>When I read the rules <em>in pari materia, </em>I don't think that you get the "free" equip of the attack AND a free object interaction. Because:</p><p>a. Specific (in the attack action) beats general (something in the environment).</p><p>b. Because the free object interaction points you to "utilize," and utilize specifically references drawing a sword as part of the attack action and not the utilize action. </p><p></p><p>In other words, you don't get "one free equip/unequip as attack, plus one free floating equip/unequip." I think that the rules, together, are that you get a free object interaction that isn't equipping or unequipping your weapons when you do an attack, because that's covered by the <u><em>specific</em></u> rules regarding the attack action. </p><p></p><p>But don't let me rain on your parade. If and when there is a Sage Advice that really delves into advanced weapon juggling, I'm sure it will be interesting.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Snarf Zagyg, post: 9710304, member: 7023840"] So here's the thing- not to add complication to what you're claiming, but look at what the Sage Advice compendium is actually saying- it's not exactly what you are saying. [HEADING=2][I]Can I make an attack with a Light weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to make the extra attack of the Light property?[/I][/HEADING] [I]Yes. The only requirement for the [URL='https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/equipment#Light']Light[/URL] property’s extra attack is that it’s made with a different Light weapon.[/I] The question itself is limited. Technically, all that it is asking is: If I have a weapon in one hand that is light, and attack with it, can I then draw a second weapon (that is light) with my other hand and attack with it? That's actually already easy to answer. Attack action gives you one (ONE!) free equip/unequip. Attack action is attack with light weapon. Free equip of second light weapon in the other hand. That triggers (condition) bonus action. That's all good! What that doesn't address is a lot of other issues- as I alluded to previously, a lot of confusion comes up in the "free object interaction" (you get to interact with one object that is part of the environment for free). Now here is where I stand, and I am sure you will disagree. [I]Utilize [Action][/I] You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of the Attack action. When an object requires an action for its use, you take the Utilize action. When I read the rules [I]in pari materia, [/I]I don't think that you get the "free" equip of the attack AND a free object interaction. Because: a. Specific (in the attack action) beats general (something in the environment). b. Because the free object interaction points you to "utilize," and utilize specifically references drawing a sword as part of the attack action and not the utilize action. In other words, you don't get "one free equip/unequip as attack, plus one free floating equip/unequip." I think that the rules, together, are that you get a free object interaction that isn't equipping or unequipping your weapons when you do an attack, because that's covered by the [U][I]specific[/I][/U] rules regarding the attack action. But don't let me rain on your parade. If and when there is a Sage Advice that really delves into advanced weapon juggling, I'm sure it will be interesting. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
How do you rule using a Hand Crossbow with a nick weapon
Top