How Much Damage would this Attack Inflict?

Hi Everyone,

I've not had much experience with mounted combat - our group tends normally not to head in this direction. As such, I have a question regarding damage involving a spirited charge with the lance scoring a critical hit. I'm not too sure if all the multiples should be multiplied or stacked in some way - there seems to be a little bit too much damage going on.

So, the scenario is:

The +2 Adamantine Lance deals 1d8+10 given all the character's various bonuses.
The character with the spirited charge feat then charges upon their mount using a power attack where a -5 penalty has been applied for extra damage.
The attack is then accurate enough for a critical hit to be confirmed with the lance.

How much damage is done and why?

Best Regards
Herremann the Wise
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Total multiplier is x5: x3 for the Spirited Charge, and x3 for the crit, by D&D maths = x5.

MULTIPLYING
Sometimes a rule makes you multiply a number or a die roll. As long as you’re applying a single multiplier, multiply the number normally. When two or more multipliers apply to any abstract value (such as a modifier or a die roll), however, combine them into a single multiple, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. Thus, a double (×2) and a double (×2) applied to the same number results in a triple (×3, because 2 + 1 = 3).


So he deals 5d10 + 50, plus 5x his Power Attack modifier.

A lance is a two-handed weapon, so -5 adds +10 to damage.

Special: If you attack with a two-handed weapon, or with a one-handed weapon wielded in two hands, instead add twice the number subtracted from your attack rolls.

Total damage: 5d10 + 100, assuming the opponent is subject to criticals.

-Hyp.
 

Though you might want to note whether your DM is using the FAQ to calculate the power attack modifier for your lance or the core rules. Hyper already has the core rules up there for you. By the FAQ (a whole other beast at times) your power attack modifier will be -5 to attack adding +5 damage (instead of +10) unless the character is actually wielding the lance in both hands.

So he instead deals 5d10 + 75 damage. Or +100 if the character wields the lance in both hands.

I consider it a relatively minor point but it might be important to your DM. ;)

There's suppose to be alot of damage going on, such charges and crits do not happen very often. Though they are spectacularly successful when they do!
 

Liquidsabre said:
Though you might want to note whether your DM is using the FAQ to calculate the power attack modifier for your lance or the core rules.

If your Str is 14 or higher, it'll impact the Str bonus to damage as well.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top