Hybrid careers

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member
Sometimes a player will say, quite reasonably, "I wasn't a librarian then a vampire slayer - I'm a librarian who moonlights as a vampire slayer". There's a difference - both careers are taking place simultaneously. Han Solo wasn't a pilot THEN a smuggler, he was both at the same time. Here's how I'd handle that.

The first thing to bear in mind is that the real solution is to invent a new career, the librarian vampire slayer. The guidelines below are how to quickly combine two existing careers into a new hybrid career.

This requires GM approval. You can't just combine careers if there's no logical reason to do so.

1) Name: the new career is named Librarian/Vampire Slayer (or similar). The two constituent careers form the title separated by a slash.

1a) Years: the number of years it takes is the longer of the two careers.
1b) XP: the XP cost of a hybrid career is the same as a normal career.

2) Prerequisites: you must meet the pre-requisites of both careers as normal.

3) Attributes: you still only get 4 attribute points. Choose 4 from those listed in both careers. However, if any attributes are listed in BOTH careers, then you MUST include that attribute in your four choices. Also, you cannot change the four choices each time you take a grade in this new career -- a career with a free choice for 8 attributes is a very broken career! So once you choose the four, you are stuck with those four each time you advance your new career.

4) Skill choices: the two constituent career skill lists are simply combined. You still only chose two.

5) Exploits: you may choose an exploit from either career. However, as you advance, you must alternate between the two exploit lists.

And voila! There's your Librarian/Vampire Slayer. Or your Soldier/Medic. Or your Pilot/Smuggler.

Thoughts?

Simple, easy, to the point. Gives the flexibility something like that should have, and not overpowered.