If you don't need to sleep, do you get tired?

Alejandro

First Post
Certain creature types (constructs, elementals, oozes, outsiders, plants, undead) do not sleep (or do not need to sleep). Constructs are specifically not subject to fatigue or exhausion, while undead are immune to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (including fatigue and exhaustion). For everything else that does not sleep, do they still require rest?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Unless stated otherwise in the creature's description, I would assume so. Rest isn't the same as sleep. Sleeping is sleeping, while resting can allow light activity, such as sitting around and talking.
 

You probably mean for spells, right? I would also be curious about any official ruling on this. I haven't had any thri-kreen clerics, but...............

ciaran
 

I would say yes...unless the creature is specifically immune to fatigue they still need rest and if they were a wizard they would still need it to prep spells.
 

There does not seem to be a penalty in the rules for not sleeping so unless the creature wished to gain some sort of benefit (natural healing, remove fatigue, arcane spells, etcetera) I don't see why any creature would need to rest.
 

ciaran00 said:
You probably mean for spells, right? I would also be curious about any official ruling on this. I haven't had any thri-kreen clerics, but...............

ciaran

Clerics have never needed rest inorder to prepare spells. They must meditate for 1 hour at the appropriate time of day, though. A Thri-Kreen Wizard, otoh, must have rest before preparing spells. What exactly constitutes rest is entirely up to the DM for races that need no sleep.
 

WCrawford said:
Clerics have never needed rest inorder to prepare spells. They must meditate for 1 hour at the appropriate time of day, though. A Thri-Kreen Wizard, otoh, must have rest before preparing spells. What exactly constitutes rest is entirely up to the DM for races that need no sleep.
Actually it's not left to the DM, it is specified in the rules. All arcane casters need 8 hours of "restful calm" before they can prepare spells (or regain slots), whether or not they actually require sleep.
 
Last edited:


Hand of Vecna said:
I thought all spellcasters needed the 8 hours of "restful calm" before spending an hour preparing their daily allotmeent of spells...?
Nope, only arcanists. Divine casters prepare their spells at a specific time each day, regardless of whether they've had any rest at all.

Spontaneous casters (sorcerers and bards) do need the 8 hours of rest, but they only require 15 minutes of preparation time, instead of the hour everyone else needs.

Details are in the Magic Overview section of the SRD.
 
Last edited:

Hand of Vecna said:
I thought all spellcasters needed the 8 hours of "restful calm" before spending an hour preparing their daily allotmeent of spells...?
From SRD
Time of Day: A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, just as a wizard does. However, a divine spellcaster does not require a period of rest to prepare spells. Instead, the character chooses a particular part of the day to pray and receive spells. The time is usually associated with some daily event. If some event prevents a character from praying at the proper time, he must do so as soon as possible. If the character does not stop to pray for spells at the first opportunity, he must wait until the next day to prepare spells.
 

Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Remove ads

Top