D&D 5E (2024) Interesting play with a high level Eldritch Knight, how would you rule?

ECMO3

Legend
I am DM in a game and one of the PCs is a level 19 Eldritch Knight. Several things came up in play today, one of them is debatable, the others I am pretty confident I got right RAW, even though it is pretty OP.

Situation 1:
Party is fighting a bunch of Baelnorns (custom undead elf). The cleric in the party has an upcast spirit guardians.

EK Turn: EK starts his turn with action surge, using Green Flame Blade on one of them and attacks two others, including one that got caught in the GFB. He follows this up with his regular action where he casts Tasha's Hideous Laughter at level 3 on these three undead. They all save with disadvantage and fail, fall prone in fits of laughter.

Baelnorn #2 turn (the one who was hit with GFB): He is on the edge of spirit guardians and tries and move out of the spirit guardians. The EK gets an AOO and uses a Warcaster Green Flame Blade on him, attacking with advantage and hitting.

This causes two rules questions: First can he jump the flames to a second Baelnorn within 5 feet? I think yes, he only targeted the guy who moved out if his reach, the other guy being damaged is just an effect of the spell. Second both of them get another save against THL. The one who got fire jumped to him gets it with advantage (he passed this time), the question is on the guy he just hit, does he make the save with advantage from taking damage or straight up as Eldritch Strik Disadvantage cancels the Advantage - Eldritch Strike says: "When you hit a creature with an attack using a weapon, that creature has Disadvantage on the next saving throw it makes against a spell you cast before the end of your next turn."

This wording is somewhat ambiguous. We ruled the save was straight up (advantage and disadvantage cancel).

This wording is quite ambiguous, you cast THL before the end of your next turn, you cast it before the attack.

Situation 2:
Party fighting lots of Vampire Spawn.

EK again started turn with Action Surge, made 1 melee attack against 1 bad guy (normal attack with a trident) and toppled him, then he threw that Trident at a different enemy, toppled him and used a free cast to get the second guy with Wrathful Smite and finally walked up to him point blank and used Truestrike with a heavy crossbow against him (normal roll disadvantage from being within 5 feet canceled by attacking a prone enemy within 5 feet). Then he cast Dissonant Whispers using a free cast on that same guy he frightened (save with disadvantage). When he moved out of reach he used a 4th level slot to make a Warcaster AOO and cast Chromatic Orb (rolling normal) while he was crawling away from him

He hits of course and rolls doubles. The big question: does the Orb get to bounce from the guy that caused the AOO to other bad guys? We ruled it did and he ended up getting 5 spawn with the spell.

How would you have played these situations?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Remove ads

Top