Is a wand considered a weapon?


log in or register to remove this ad

The Draw a Weapon action allows you to draw a weapon or weaponlike object (which includes wands) as a Move action.

The Quickdraw feat allows you to draw a weapon as a free action.

Now, if the Quickdraw feat allows to to draw a weapon (as in, take the Draw a Weapon action) as a free action, it allows you to draw a wand.

If it allows you to draw a weapon (as distinct from draw a weapon or weaponlike object), it doesn't.

It depends on whether you consider the phrase to be descriptive, or referring to the defined action type.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The Draw a Weapon action allows you to draw a weapon or weaponlike object (which includes wands) as a Move action.

The Quickdraw feat allows you to draw a weapon as a free action.

Now, if the Quickdraw feat allows to to draw a weapon (as in, take the Draw a Weapon action) as a free action, it allows you to draw a wand.

If it allows you to draw a weapon (as distinct from draw a weapon or weaponlike object), it doesn't.

It depends on whether you consider the phrase to be descriptive, or referring to the defined action type.

-Hyp.

I assume the same is true for other items? Such as quickdrawing a torch, a potion, etc.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
I assume the same is true for other items? Such as quickdrawing a torch, a potion, etc.
The rules don't say what, besides wands, count as a "weapon-like objects". It does say that the object has to be carried in easy reach, not in a pack. I'd allow anything, if you can make a scabbard / belt loop / bandolier to carry it. (And, noting Hypersmurf's exegesis, I'd allow quick draw for weapon-like objects.)
 



RigaMortus2 said:
So if a wand is a weapon-like object, then does it act in other ways like a weapon? Can you apply other weapon-oriented feats to it?
No, in general. I don't see anywhere else where "weapon-like objects" are mentioned.
 

Warehouse23 said:
If a wand counts as a weapon, or a weapon-like object, can it be used by a hand which is attached to an arm which is sporting a light shield?

I see no problem with this. A light shield allows you to hold something in the hand of the arm that holds the shield, and using a wand merely requires the ability to hold the wand and speak the command word.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top