Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Is the Psion class balanced?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="KarinsDad" data-source="post: 2721615" data-attributes="member: 2011"><p>Precisely. The upcoming turn, not the upcoming round.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Precisely (shy of full round actions, etc.).</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Not quite sure what you meant by the word "vice" here, but if you meant:</p><p></p><p>An immediate action just allows you to use your next swift action early or at your normal turn in the initiative order.</p><p></p><p>then I agree. Immediate actions can be done outside your turn in place of the swift action of your next turn, or they can be done inside your turn in place of the swift action of that turn.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Sorry, but this does not make sense. Nothing in the text states that this is bounded by the beginning or ends of rounds. Nowhere does it state that you can only use an immediate action before your turn, but only in the same round as your turn previous to your initiative.</p><p></p><p>The text you bolded did not change the rule to your interpretation.</p><p></p><p>Once your turn is past, you can then immediately use an immediate action for your <strong>NEXT</strong> turn. The sentence you bolded does not change that in any way, in fact it supports it.</p><p></p><p>It explicitly states and then clarifies the rule:</p><p></p><p>"You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn"</p><p></p><p>"effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn"</p><p></p><p>Not my turn (regardless of whether it was after my init last round or before my init this round) - use immediate action using up swift action for the coming turn</p><p>My turn - no swift or immedate action available</p><p>Not my turn - use immediate action using up swift action for the coming turn</p><p>My turn - no swift or immedate action available</p><p></p><p></p><p>Reverse the order of the words in the rule, maybe that will clarify it.</p><p></p><p>If you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn, you cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn.</p><p></p><p>This does not say:</p><p></p><p>If you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn <strong>and it is now your turn</strong>, you cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn.</p><p></p><p>In the two character scenario, it does not matter if the NPC won initiative or the PC won initiative. The PC is still allowed the same actions.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="KarinsDad, post: 2721615, member: 2011"] Precisely. The upcoming turn, not the upcoming round. Precisely (shy of full round actions, etc.). Not quite sure what you meant by the word "vice" here, but if you meant: An immediate action just allows you to use your next swift action early or at your normal turn in the initiative order. then I agree. Immediate actions can be done outside your turn in place of the swift action of your next turn, or they can be done inside your turn in place of the swift action of that turn. Sorry, but this does not make sense. Nothing in the text states that this is bounded by the beginning or ends of rounds. Nowhere does it state that you can only use an immediate action before your turn, but only in the same round as your turn previous to your initiative. The text you bolded did not change the rule to your interpretation. Once your turn is past, you can then immediately use an immediate action for your [b]NEXT[/b] turn. The sentence you bolded does not change that in any way, in fact it supports it. It explicitly states and then clarifies the rule: "You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn" "effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn" Not my turn (regardless of whether it was after my init last round or before my init this round) - use immediate action using up swift action for the coming turn My turn - no swift or immedate action available Not my turn - use immediate action using up swift action for the coming turn My turn - no swift or immedate action available Reverse the order of the words in the rule, maybe that will clarify it. If you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn, you cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn. This does not say: If you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn [b]and it is now your turn[/b], you cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn. In the two character scenario, it does not matter if the NPC won initiative or the PC won initiative. The PC is still allowed the same actions. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Is the Psion class balanced?
Top